Staycation

I’ve been out of town for so many weddings over the last few weeks that having NO travel plans on the calendar for this weekend felt like a treat. Staycation FTW!

And while there were no flights or bus trips booked, I DID travel…to Brooklyn.

After Friday a.m.’s 20 miler flop, I immediately got to work stalking Jocelyn and Carla’s long run plan for Saturday morning. And before I left work for the weekend, I had plans to meet them and some other fun runners at the base of the Brooklyn bridge for a group run.

After a relatively low-key evening of beers and hockey with the JD, I was in bed early on Friday, determined to finally get a good nights sleep. Apparently, a few good brews and a closed bedroom door are all it takes to remedy a restless cat and a sleepless night. I woke up Saturday morning totally pumped for the long run ahead. Unfortunately, I was out of my favorite pre-run breakfast supply of honey stinger waffles, and had to settle for almond butter on toast…turned out, that works fine too.

I met the ladies right at 10:00 on the Manhattan side of the Brooklyn Bridge with 6 miles under my belt. Our plan was to cover 14 more by going over the bridge and doing some loops in, around and on the Brooklyn Half Marathon course. I’ve NEVER run in Brooklyn before, so it was AWESOME finally getting to experience Prospect Park (minus its one brutal hill…that we hit TWICE) with a good guide—thanks Carla! Now I just need to convince one or all of these girls to book a flight to Buffalo come May 27th. I’m pretty sure the fun conversation would help carry me through 26.2 miles MUCH better than going at it alone…takers??

Afterwards, we all went to Scottadito for an amazing and well-earned lunch. I had the eggs florentine with PESTO hollandaise sauce. PESTO, people. It was top notch! Oh, and I finally got to meet Susan, which was mega fun since she’s probably one of the first NYC/running blogs I ever read!

Somehow, our 10am “run” lasted until after 4pm. I could NOT believe how fast the day flew by, but I wanted to extend the time in the sunshine a little longer (note: I think I’m the only one who finished up 3 hours of running on Saturday with NO sun-tinted skin to show for it. How does that happen) and took the subway from Brooklyn to Wall Street to drag the JD out of the office. My original plan was to persuade him to go for a nice walk…to 16 Handles. But we ended up just walking home instead. I’ll take it πŸ™‚

A quick shower and [yet another] bite to eat later (do I do anything other than run and eat??) and the JD and I were on our way to meet up with the same said runner girls and some other friends on the UWS. We met at a friends apartment for beer, wine and Nuun sharing, as well as runtalk. Most of the guys present hated it. All of us gals loved it. And true story: we may have very well convinced the JD to sign up for his first-ever half marathon (hot dog)! From there, the gang headed out to some bars. I on the other hand…being the sissy that I am…headed home to bed!

I wanted to wake up and get to a free CoreRxN abs class at Jack Rabbit, but even with the early bedtime, was unable to drag myself there. Give me some sneaks and an open running path and I’m down no matter what, but making it to a group class–especially one with an ABs focus takes A LOT more heaving and hoeing on my end.

Instead, the JD and I enjoyed a lazy Sunday morning at home–which hasn’t happened since we moved into the new apartment, so I gladly said goodbye to the coreclass guilt, before we headed out for a rainy day shake out run.

Only it wasn’t so much a short, slow shake out like I planned. The temps had plunged in comparison to the day before and a driving rain only amplified the desire to run fast. The JD kept me company for the first 3 miles or so before heading home, and I [sort of accidentally] added on another 4…the last of which was clocking in at 8:15. Turns out, if I want to go sub-4 on May 27th, alls I need to do is order a downpour from the weather gods (dear weather gods, if you’re reading, don’t take me seriously AT ALL…as I really don’t want to attempt 26.2 in the rain).

Anywho the weekend came to a close with dinner and a movie night (and by movie, I mean getting sucked into a few episodes of Game of Thrones) at the JD’s aunt and uncles apartment. The food was delish, the company was awesome as always and the entertainment choice was…well, interesting. I think I’d rather try the books first πŸ™‚

Hope everyone’s having an awesome Monday! Heopfully we’ll be back to warm spring weather soon!

3 Responses to “Staycation”


  1. 1 Laura April 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    If it makes you feel better, I woke up still drunk and therefore did not get much out of the abs class πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Lindsey April 25, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Sounds like a great long run on Saturday! The weather turned out to be so nice. I ran 20 in Central Park and definitely came home with some sunburned shoulders. I’ve run in Prospect Park once and can’t remember the hill – is it worse than Harlem Hill?

  3. 3 marathon winer April 26, 2012 at 10:03 am

    not sure if its worse, just new to me, haha! congrats on your 20 (esp all in central park, wow)!! are you training for anything? ive got a 22 coming up, perhaps we can runnnn!


Leave a Reply

