Friday Night [High]lights!

So it’s 9:30 on a Friday night and I’m back on the couch tuned into Glee on Netflix with a devoured bag of Energy Kitchen dinner wrappers on the table in front of me. I must have a long run early tomorrow morning, right? Wrong.

That run actually just happened. After work on a Friday night.

I wasn’t sure if it was going to happen at all, given the week of ickies, but after a visit to the doctor this morning my confidence started to grow. And after a quick trip to CVS to pick up a Z-pack, my symptoms finally started to wane.

Two popped pills, a lot of water chugging throughout the day, and I was off for 12-13 miles around Manhattan. I opted for Hudson River Park so I could catch the sunset, and I’m really glad I did. I retraced a lot of Wednesdays route [read: run from hell, sans Z-pack. Big mistake], only this time felt much stronger as I went over it. For the first time ever, rather than cutting towards the park as soon as I got to 110th street, I followed Riverside up a little further, until I was almost at the GW bridge. I really wanted to be adventurous and go all the way up to it/try to run across it, but got worried I’d be caught somewhere unfamiliar after the sun sank. Mom, I know you’re proud.

So I double backed to Cathedral Pkwy and made my way to my favorite long run spot of late, the reservoir. I did two circles around Jackie O, and watched the sun set over the city. It was as pretty as the sunrises over the reservoir but in an entirely different way. I loved every second of it.

Things started to ache a little as I made my way back towards midtown, which I imagine I am allowed to blame on this past week, but I finished it up at a little over 14 miles! Between that and the fact that I can squeak out a little more than a whisper every time I try to speak now, I think I’m in as good a place as I could be heading into the last crazy wedding weekend of April!

Have a great weekend everyone! And to all those running MORE–good luck!!! Rock it!!

1 Response to “Friday Night [High]lights!”


  1. 1 Sassy April 13, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    This is getting more than obsessive


Leave a Reply

