Big News Comes in Twos?

I wanted the title of this post to be “Big News Comes in Threes” since that’s the magic number that things usually happen in, but unfortunately, after today I’ll be out of announcements…at least for the foreseeable future.

Yesterday I confessed that I’m running a Spring Marathon.

I was so excited over sharing that news and I wanted to badly to reveal my other exciting registration over the last few days, but decided to give it to you in doses. You need SOME reason to return to my ramblings day in and day out, right?

So in May, I’ll run my second 26.2. And a few weeks later in June, I’ll spend a weekend in Bloomfield, CT learning the ins and outs of being a certified running coach! Woot woot! Shameless plug: if you know of ANYONE who may want to leave their couch on a Saturday in the near future and attempt a mile run, a 5k, 10k or any other running distance, please, think of me.

I realize that there are 48025839045 other coaches living and running in NYC (fun fact: Celia is taking the same class as me, and I’m stoked to have a travel buddy) and the “competition” will be high as far as finding friends and clients who want silly ol‘ me to guide them in their quest to pound some pavement, but no matter what happens post certification, it will be AWESOME to add that line to my email signature: “RRCA Certified Coach.”

I may not be able to decide what I want to go to grad school for (much less where, when, etc…) but I do know, that for the last year and some months, amongst all of the applications to various publishing/writing/editing jobs in and around New York City (again, talk about a flurry of competition!) and all of the gentle and not-so-gentle rejections, running has been the one thing in my life that has worked. It is the one thing I feel truly, without a doubt (which is pretty much unheard of in the indecisive world of marathonwiner) passionate about, and successful in. So regardless of where this certification takes me (if anywhere), it’s one more thing I can add on to my running resume, and feel proud of myself for. Big thanks to RRCA and the sport of running for the much needed confidence boost.

Speaking of running (really, do I talk about much else?)…it’s a good thing it’s a cutback week because ever since I returned from Key West my body has been fighting the cooler weather that is Spring time in New York. For the last four days I’ve had a nasty on-and-off cough and NO voice. It’s making for some really awkward moments at work, specifically when I attempt to answer the phone…

Cutback week, you ask? Yes. I’m sort of following a training schedule(s)/sort of winging things as I go with this whole Buffalo Marathon deal. After achieving the 20 mile run that I needed to register for the race, I created a completely ridiculous and confusing schedule for myself that basically merges the Novice 1, Novice 2 and Intermediate training programs from good ol’ Hal Higdon. Basically, I’ve got the requirements for all three programs written down on a calendar, and on any given day, if I hit one of the three run prescriptions, or a median of the 3, I call it a success. This makes my life much easier, given that it’s wedding season and nearly every single day (and certainly every single weekend) requires some sort of a modification. Yesterday I was supposed to cross-train (which I haven’t done in a week now…oops), but didn’t want the evil glares of fellow gym-goers when they heard my black lung cough, so instead I went for a run. And accidentally ran 9 miles instead of the Novice 1/2’s median suggestion of 4.5. Now, I’m hoping the anti-hacking drugs I just popped will keep the cough at bay long enough for me to log some much-needed time on the ellitpical at lunch.

You probably didn’t need that hours long explanation of my training/coughing/life, but I figured by making it public I’ll hold myself more accountable.

So there you have it. I’m running a spring marathon. I’m hoping to become a run coach this summer.

I’m probably out of big news for the next 6 months. I apologize in advance, but please stop back from time to time and say hello so I don’t feel like a big waste of internet space.

Happy Tuesday kids! Make it a good one.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Big News Comes in Twos?”


  1. 1 runningseal April 10, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I can’t wait to take the class with you!!! 🙂


  1. 1 Mom is Always Right « Marathon Winer Trackback on April 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Leave a Reply

