Surf’s Up

So try as I might to get my lazy but to the 7 a.m. spin class yesterday morning, it just was. not. happening. Turns out, I need to schedule 13.5 mile runs with out-of-towners to ensure that I actually listen to my alarm when it goes off for a.m. workouts, vs just hitting the snooze button.

And so instead, I made a mad dash to the cycle studio at 6:30 yesterday evening. It was JUST what I needed. After racing Saturday and running an accidental second half marathon on Monday morning (and as per usual, sucking at stretching after both), spin class turned out to be just what the doctor ordered. We had a new instructor, and she had just the right balance of resistance, speed and recovery periods for these tired legs. Every time I thought I was going to have to bite the bullet and give up on a particularly excruciating hill or turn down the resistance knob for a rest, the instructor had us back in the saddle for a breather. And my legs (whom up to that point were threatening to disown me) were really grateful for the change in cardio.

Afterwards, I had plans to do a quick 30 minute cooldown on the old ellip, but after some channel surfing landed me on the latest episode of the Biggest Loser, I was hooked for a full hour (#oops). I never have been a religious follower of this show (shoot, even the shows that I AM self-declared fanatic about I don’t have time to watch these days), but every time I catch it, I get sucked right in–especially, if I’m working out myself. Last night was particularly eye-catching as Bethany Hamilton was on the show, introducing the contestants to the world of surfing. AND this episode happened to happen just hours after Laura sent an email asking for volunteers to join her for a group class at Surfset.

I’m scared to death of surfing–not because I have a fear of the ocean or the creatures in it (which apparently the badass Dolvett DOES), but more so because I am severely lacking in balancing skills and know I would likely suck at the sport. But after watching Bethany for all of five seconds, I was motivated to give it a go. When I got home, I bought a voucher for the group class. This may scare me FAR more than real surfing, because if when I fall it will be on a hard surface or on top of a fellow class goer. Yikes! But I’m excited to try something new!

That said, I have a wild and crazy plan to try and do a 20 mile [not so new] run before work on Friday (don’t ask me why. Well you can, but 50% of the reason is a secret so I won’t tell, and the other 50 is pulled out of nowhere so I just can’t tell). So in sticking to my mileage mantra of never doing a weekend long run greater than double the distance of the longest weekday long run (if that didn’t make sense it’s because I’m just too lazy to go back and reread/correct it), I set out for another 10 this morning. The sky was spitting just enough for it to be annoying for the entirety of the run, but it felt awesome to knock it out and I went into work on a high note.

And now its 4:00 and I’m only two hours away from this Wednesday being over, another high note!

Hope you’re having a good one kids!

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Surf’s Up”


  1. 1 Laura March 21, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    I am so excited to give this a try! Laura loved it when she went with Greatist – I know we are going to have a blast 🙂

  2. 2 Celia March 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm

    I want to come to that surf class with you guys! Let me know when you go!

  3. 3 Laura March 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    Registration opens March 27 – I put it on my calendar and will send an email with a few options when they come out.

  4. 4 jocelyn (@enthusiasticrun) March 21, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    I think I am going to sign up too!

  5. 5 sweatpassionandtears March 21, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    All I can say is, man I wish I had your motivation haha. 2 hours of exercise before work = you are amazing


  1. 1 The Long Distance Debacle « Marathon Winer Trackback on April 19, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

