Twofer

Woohoo! I did it! For the first time in ages I finally got out of bed for an a.m. run TWO DAYS IN A ROW!

Today’s post was supposed to be titled something like “Five Things Friday” or “Fun Things Friday”. It was going to be light and simple, and rather than focus on my currently pretty boring [running] life, it was going to highlight five NON RUNNING RELATED things that I meant to talk about all week but got sidetracked on [read: last weekends multiple successes with me in the kitchen, favorite websites to tick away the time at work, etc]. And then this morning came and I ran and I got excited and the title changed from a five theme to a two theme, so we’re just going to have to roll with that.

This morning when the alarm went off I asked the JD what our plans were tonight. Aka, I asked: Can I skip running now and workout later?

Our plans for this evening repeat every other night this week–packing and preparing for tomorrow’s move. So, squeezing a trip to the gym in would most certainly fit into the schedule.

Oh, and it RAINED this morning. Hard. Around 5:30. Which pretty much always means the reservoir water just expands to cover the dirt path around it, making a morning run more like an army obstacle course–leaping up and over puddles instead of hopping tires.

But just as I was about to reset my alarm and go back to sleep I remembered. A few things:

1. Even though yesterday morning’s run was a little sluggish, I was stoked to have finally won a match in the the Katie vs. Alarm Clock battle. And I told all of you fine people that I planned to continue that winning streak. Good/bad thing about blogging? It makes you a bit more accountable for your goals.

2. We are moving significantly further south on the island of Manhattan tomorrow. Which this morning meant that if I didn’t keep my date with the Bridle and Reservoir paths, my last run with them would have not left me with fond memories. And any future runs would be indeterminably far away.

So I got up. And I got out the door.

And today’s run was significantly better than yesterdays. So much so, that I decided to tack on an other mile of rolling hills at the end of my usual 6.15.

Only when I got to work and laid out the course on MapMyRun, it turned out that my “usual” was much closer to 7 miles than 6. And adding an extra bit on the end left me at a little over 8 miles. Either I’ve been running much further distances than I thought over the last few months, or I’m doing something wrong on MapMyRun. I’m not really sure which is the answer, but I’m going to go ahead and trust the web site for now, because higher mileage makes me feel happy 🙂

Now I’m toying with the idea of a Friday night spin class to segue me into the weekend. Aka, one last workout before moving/unpacking/makingnewplacelikehome takes over my life (I fear finding no time to get a good run in).

In the meantime, hope you all have a very happy Friday!

1 Response to “Twofer”


  1. 1 Laura February 25, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Happy moving day!!! Hope it’s going well 🙂


Leave a Reply

