Parents Weekend!

My parents flew into New York last night for a weekend visit! First though, they made a surprise appearance at my aunt’s birthday dinner out on Long Island (Happy Bday, Sass!). I unfortunately could not attend because I had to (can you guess?) work late last night. But that’s alright, because it gave me plenty of time to get the apartment straightened up ahead of their arrival, and get to bed early so I could be up and at ’em for an early run.

Only not so much.

I had really, really wanted to knock out 10 miles this weekend, to help me feel caught up in training between last weekends bachelorette partying and this weekends restaurant week dining and other fun events, but my body had other plans. I had felt the scratchy onset of a cold in my throat all day yesterday, and even though I made sure to take some Echinacea before bed last night, I think the damage had already been done. I was up all night tossing and turning with cold-like symptoms. Not cool, winter2012 (that can’t settle on one range of temps). Not cool at all.

After very few hours of sleep (ugh, we’re back to that?) I finally rolled out of bed around 8:30 and made my toward the park. It was a gorgeous day for running–sunshine and perfect temps, but for the first time in a long time, I just was. not. feelin’. it. It’s my favorite route and the conditions were ideal, but I spend every second of those 6.15 miles chanting to myself “just get it over with, and it will be done.” I haven’t felt that way about a run in a long time, so it made me a little sad, but I am happy to have at least knocked out that much. It’s certainly not the nice 10-miler I had planned, but it’s something. And here’s hoping I can try to do those 10 Monday morning before work instead.

In the meantime, I’ve got some Dayquil waiting for me, and once we rendezvous I’m off to Penn to pick up the parentals and start a weekend full of fun–including possible stops at Rice to Riches, the Highline, Bryant Park’s SW Corner and definite stops at a restaurant week peak, a Sister Act performance and dinner with some friends and family Saturday night. Another exhausting one, but I never want Sunday night to get here 🙂

Happy Friday kids! Have a great weekend!

– Any other suggestions for non-touristy stops with the rents?

– What are your running plans for the weekend? Mine just include RUNNING around the city with mom, dad and the JD 🙂

2 Responses to “Parents Weekend!”


  1. 1 rainingdogsncats February 4, 2012 at 1:59 pm

    I was going to remind you to take dad to the rice place. Glad you already have that on the list.


  1. 1 The Runner’s Roller Coaster and a Superbowl Fail/Win « Marathon Winer Trackback on February 6, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

