Blogger Q and A: A Few Random Facts

I’ve seen Q&A’s of this sort all over the place for a while now. Originally, I wasn’t a big fan, but the more into a blog I got, the more I enjoyed learning some non-running facts about some of my favorite writing runners, or even just more in-depth running thoughts. So I was a little tickled when I woke up this morning and saw that I had been tagged by Ashley, in a blogger Q&A. It is sort of a nice follow-up to yesterday’s post, where I bulleted 5 things I love in honor of February and its being Heart Health month. That list, accidentally turned into a strictly “C’s” list, so this Q&A allows me to share a little more random facts about myself, with any combination of letters I choose.

Here is how it works:

1. Post these rules.
2. You must post 11 random things about yourself.
3. Answer the questions set for you in their post.
4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
5. Go to their blog and tell them you’ve tagged them.
6. No stuff in the tagging section like “you are tagged if you are reading this”. You (the blogger) legitimately have to tag 11 (or so) people.

My Random facts:
1. I’m a lefty by definition (aka, write with my left hand), but ambidextrous in most other cases.

2. I am by far, without a doubt, the most indecisive person in the entire world. And I know about 948304 people that would vouch for that.

3. My W2’s for this years taxes will represent four different places of “full-time” employment, plus at least two ongoing freelance jobs. This is not something that necessarily makes me happy (see #2), but was required to get me to the awesome city that is New York.

4. I started undergrad as a Pre-PA major. I grew up determined to live the life of all those doctors I religiously watched on ER. Maybe, because of #2, and in light of #3, I’ll still fall back on that…

5. I would rather call in to work than miss a run [and have. Oops]. This is how obsessive I can be about something I’m passionate about. Which makes me think my next career move should somehow involve running.

6. I am self-declared OCD. I despise dirty dishes. And my clothes are hung in my closet by order of season–largest, longest sweaters progress down to tube tops.

7. I want to travel the world. And claim I don’t have time or money to do so. Yet somehow I’ve been to the Dominican Republic four times. And Fort Smith, Arkansas (almost) three. The only thing that should really tell you about me is that I love, love, LOVE my family and being with my family far more than just about anything else in the world.

8.On that same note, Thanksgiving is hands-down the greatest holiday. I wish I could shake the hands of those pilgrims and Indians.

9. Not so much on the same note, I love summer. I love hot weather. I visited Phoenix, Arizona in June and thought the weather was perfect. I can sit on a beach from 8 in the morning until 6 at night and not get bored. Being in the sun, on the sand and near the ocean is heaven.

10. I probably should have lived in the 50’s because I am 100% old-school. I’d rather stay at home and play board games then go get crazy at a club. I despise kindles and anything like them, I prefer my pages to be made of paper (I’m still green, I RECYCLE). I’ve only ever seen one (count it–ONE) episode of the Jersey Shore, and that’s because I had previously announced that I hadn’t seen ANY, and friends forced me to sit down in front of the TV. It was agony. I’d much rather watch reruns of cheesy, feel-good sitcoms like I Love Lucy and Happy Days.

11. In high school or college, were I to mutter the words “I’m going to the gym,” people in the room very likely laughed. And “going for a run”? I’m pretty sure I just never muttered those words. And now, well, running is who I am.

A Healthy, Happier Bear’s Questions to Me:
1. Would you rather be an Olympic athlete or win American Idol?

I’m pretty sure American Idol. Which is weird since I’ve NEVER WATCHED THE SHOW. Not once. Not even when my sister flew to California and got to sit in the audience and wave signs that I would have recognized. I have, however, ALWAYS wanted to be able to sing well. Because as it stands right now, I 100%, most certainly, cannot.

2. If you could live in any US city, which would it be?

Oh, the question of my life right now…as I apartment search and wonder if I should stay in this city that I love so much but cannot afford/find a good job in (but I LOVE LOVE LOVE living here) or move closer to home/my fam (Richmond–in my eyes–is just as cool as New York). Then again, if I could live ANYWHERE, I’ve always thought I belong in California somewhere near the beach. I’d just like to pick up Manhattan and all of my family and replant them right down the road from my condo with an oceanfront view.

3. What was the first blog you ever read?

I came across the blog Fit Bottomed Girls through my first job here in NYC. After leaving the meeting where the blog was mentioned, I went back to my desk and looked it up. I thought it was interesting and had a lot of good information to share, but had a little too much going on for my liking. So I started to search for other health and wellness blogs. The Fitnessista came up shortly after. Again, cool blog, but not quite what I was looking for. Then I remembered a college classmate had had a blog about running (running!), when we were both training for the Philly Marathon in 2010. I looked up Kelly’s MyVerbalVomit, and from there had a good idea on how to link to, and find, similar blogs about running. AliOntheRun was probably the first NY running blog I stumbled upon from there.

4. Would you rather bungee jump or sky dive?
I’ve already been skydiving…and it was THE MOST AMAZING/MOST TERRIFYING/MOST FREEING experience of my entire life.The weird thing is, bungee jumping has absolutely ZERO appeal for me. But…you never know!

funny thing is, i'm pretty sure even though i've done this once and loved it, id still be scared to bits if i was ever geared up to jump again.

5. What was your favorite CD in 7th grade?

Toss up between Matchbox 20, No Doubt and Third Eye Blind. I was TOO cool.

6. What is your favorite movie?

I might be able to answer this question if it were broken up into categories…like “favorite animated movie from 1990-2000,” “favorite holiday movie from 2000-2010,” etc.

As it is. I’ll just give you these: The Goonies, Love Actually, The Three Muskateers, Dirty Dancing, Despicable Me, Monsters, Inc., Lilo and Stitch annnnd many others I can’t think of right now.

I realize few of those were made beyond the year 2000. And those that were are cartoons. I don’t get out much/#kidatheart

7. Mac or PC?

Own a PC. Most of the time wish it were a Mac. #firstworldproblems

8. If you could fly anywhere in the world, free of cost, where would you go?

Everywhere. Literally.

9. Who was your first kiss?

He is my friend on Facebook. I don’t want to out him. Bwahaha.

10. Sandwich or salad?

Both? I love all food. And I love all veggies–on bread or in a bowl.
11. Country music or rap?

Again, a little bit of both and then a whole lot more. Unfortunately, I do not have the love and interest in music that I used to, so like my movies, all of my favorite music is a little dated. You know this already, as I JUST recently fell in love with a Katy Perry song that apparently is 2 years old. Oops.

Questions below are for these lovely ladies:

@runcupcake, @Abby_NYC, @kymarie13, @SweatPassionNYC, @kelster718, @MeganMumbles, @50by25 and @krissymmurphy

1. When did you start running?

2. What monopoly piece do you always pick?

3. What is your favorite pre-race meal?

4. Disney or Nickelodeon as a kid?

5. What is your favorite race fuel?

6. What did you want to be when you grow up as a kid?

7. What do you want to be now?

8. What is the best place you’ve ever lived?

9. What is the best route you’ve ever run?

10. What TV show is your guilty pleasure?

11. What is your favorite non-running blog?

2 Responses to “Blogger Q and A: A Few Random Facts”


  1. 1 Kelly February 2, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Weee thanks! I’ll work on this for tomorrow!

  2. 2 krissy m. murphy February 2, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks, girl! Will have some fun with this!!


Leave a Reply

