Fitting it all In

This weekend I received a card in the mail.

A card not just FROM my little sister, Squigs, but MADE by her:

she so craaaafty

I’m not really sure where the motivation for this card came from. But I’m sure glad it came. Because on March 4th, I will be running up to the Top of the Rock.[Shameless plug: feel free to donate to a good cause!]

When I signed up for this event, I just thought it’d be fun and something different to do, but no more work than a NYRR 4-miler or 10k in the park.

Then this weekend, I was on a bright red bus, directly under 30 Rockefeller Plaza and breaking my neck as I looked up to try to see the top of said rock. My neck hurt. And then my legs started to hurt just THINKING about how grueling getting up all of those stairwells will be. Oops.

So I need to start training for that.

And I need to start re-focusing on training for the National Half Marathon that will take place a few weeks later in DC.

Sure, I’ve been loosely following a training plan created by Hal, but with bachelorette parties and work events taking over my calendar, I’ve managed to completely let those 400’s that I love so much fall off the to-do list. Funny how when I was having severe foot issues (oh, I’m sure you remember me talking about them…EVERY day for 4 weeks straight) I was doing far more speed work, and now when I’m back in the great outdoors and running pain-free (/knocking on wood every time that thought crosses my mind) it’s problematic getting my butt back to the dreadmill.

I don’t have a whole lot of good runs to keep up Squigs (minus those 400s I let escape, an 11-miler in the snow a few weeks ago and a happily paced 5-miler Sunday. And fine, the 6ish miles I ran yesterday can be considered good since I ran them BEFORE seeing an apartment BEFORE working a 12+ hour day)…but I plan to change that. STAT.

Tonight was supposed to be another late night at work. Annnnd I just found out my presence is not actually needed. Wootwoot! So here’s hoping I can get back to the ol’ treadmill and pick up the pace again!

A verrry happpppy Tuesday to ya! 🙂

2 Responses to “Fitting it all In”


  1. 1 Laura January 31, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    I’m doing National as a pacer!!!! Long run weekends for sure 🙂


  1. 1 Heart Health « Marathon Winer Trackback on February 1, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

