No Such Thing as Routine

This morning I had every intention of shaking up my run by a) waking up an hour earlier so I could run further and b) doing said run along the Hudson River, since about 2 out of my last 842390 morning jogs have been outside of Central Park (or in reality, anywhere other than the Bridle path and reservoir).

But when my alarm went off at 6 I was still sleepy. And went it went off again at 6:30 I was just itching to see how my crazy dream ended (Squigs, if you’re reading…we were students at Hogwarts. it was AWESOME. and I pushed snooze but now can’t recall much more than that). At 7, I finally dragggged myself up and ignored the fact that I had stupidly looked at the weather before going to bed last night (note: it was supposed to be below 20 degrees when I laced up).

So unfortunately, the windy bank of the Hudson River on a freezing cold morning did NOT appeal to me, and I found myself heading over to the usual jaunt. I realize my 6.something mile runs multiple times a week have probably grown painfully boring for you to hear about, but it occurred to me today that no matter how similar my “routine” becomes, each run is different, and in so many ways.

Just between today and yesterday, there were a great many differences. Yesterday I ran with my Garmin (the fact that I haven’t fully figured out how to use it is besides the point) and today I did not. Yesterday I saw a lot of people out and about, many crazies even in shorts. Today there were far fewer people, a lot more dogs and noone silly enough to let their legs go bare. Yesterday I spent a lot of time racing myself…once I finally realized that my watch was showing pace and lap times. Today, I did not.

Today I was far less focused on the fact that I was finally back outdoors (woohoo! though not really woohoo, because Foot still hurts and that makes me angry, but that’s an entirely different story) and far more focused on appreciating having a few minutes of free time…a lot of minutes of “me” time. And it was used wisely. I thought up lots of smart ways to get a head start on packing for our move out of the apartment/making space for the many lovely ladies staying with me for a bachelorette partay next weekend (suggestions are as always welcome), I re-fell in love with the city (apartment hunting has been stressing me out), thought about my list of priorities at the office today and how I’d knock them all out (shockingly, I think I’m moving along that list rather well) and overall just had some detox from an otherwise anxiety-filled couple of weeks.

Yes, I was physically lazy over the weekend, but my mind was all twisted up and freaking out over work, apartment hunting, missing my fam and a whole other slew of things…top on the list very possibly the fear that my Foot will never heal and I’d never run again. But as is often the case…that last one motivated me to sign up for an awesome “race”, which got me re-pumped over all things sweatastic and which got me out the door (and onto a stair machine for the first time ever. Terrifying people, terrifying). Loop closed. Lesson learned: running is therapeutic, both physically and mentally. And I don’t really know where I’d be without it.

…probably staggering around the city like a crazy person, rotating between fits of laughter, ear-piercing screams, and crying to myself.

Thank goodness for my Asics! And my oh-so-boring routine.

Have a very happy Thursday kids!

5 Responses to “No Such Thing as Routine”


  1. 1 Dating a 57WAR January 19, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    Your dream sounds amazing haha

  2. 2 runningismagical January 20, 2012 at 1:22 am

    I try to shake up my routine runs for safety purposes….but I do love when what I think is becoming a boring route becomes fun again…sometimes its because I’m in a different frame of mind, or because I noticed something new. Either way – its a good time!

  3. 3 Katie January 20, 2012 at 11:45 am

    What’s going on with your foot? Misery loves company here– I am in the midst about 6 weeks of light/no running, due to a bum foot. (Plantar fasciitis is the biggest b*tch I know!!!!)
    Seriously, though, I hope it is OK!
    Apartment hunting is horrific, also, ESP in NYC! I feel for you! I just moved a few weeks ago. Good luck with everything!

    • 4 marathon winer January 20, 2012 at 3:14 pm

      the issue with my foot is I HAVE NO IDEA WHATS WRONG WITH IT. which is the most frusterating thing in the world!
      are you in nyc?? if so i want moving/apartment hunting tips! 🙂

      • 5 Katie January 23, 2012 at 11:55 am

        OMG I know the feeling (re the foot.) Is the pain in your heel, and worst in the morning? I really, really, really hope not– ’cause that is PF. If it’s not, then breathe a sigh of relief bcs PF is the worst!
        I AM in NYC! Hit up streeteasy.com. It feels less sketchy than Craigslist… though I have gotten a lot of apts from Craigslist, too. Try and use a no-fee broker, if possible, ’cause broker fees are a killer. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

