Only Thursday?

I have absolutely no idea how it’s still only Thursday. What a whirlwind week it’s been! Everrrrry single day has had something slated for both pre-work and post-work hours, so there’s little time left for doing things like catching up on emails/life, sleeping, eating (that’s not true…I ALWAYS make time for that), relaxing or any number of things.

Yesterday, the day that I was so busy I had to put up a holiday-themed post from the lovely Meggie at the last-minute. What was I so busy doing? Well, I was up bright and early for an awesome run around the Bridle Path, the reservoir (you know, the usual) AND the hill in my hood that I used to tack on to the end of runs when I was feeling especially super-heroish and awesome.

I had toyed with the idea for the first 6.5 miles or so of my run, not sure if I should push my foot or not, but I wanted to know that I was capable of running half the distance (or more) of a half marathon. Because I’m seriously considering a completely impromptu trip to Bermuda this weekend to run a half there. Crazy? Yes. Crazy cool? You bet.

I made it up the hill and through 7.5 (ish–haven’t had a free second to map it out…) miles pain-free and with my Garmin on my wrist for the first time ever. Well, again, I’m fibbing. I wore it to SundayFunDayRunDay [read: Courons à la Cassoulet] in hopes that one of my new runner friends would be able to teach me how to use it, only to arrive in Central Park to the tune of a beeping, dying battery. Oops.

But it worked yesterday! Again…I think (haven’t had a free second to plug in and see how it registers on the computer, and not even sure what buttons I pushed to get it going, but we’ll see what happens). And the hill run went so good! And I made it into work riding a lovely runners high, complemented by a new outfit. That was hot pink. And made me feel fun and flashy.

The work day FLEW by because I was SO crazed with mounds of emails and edits and all sorts of crazy things, and I snuck out justttt in time to meet my aunt at Penn Station. I recently discovered that not only did she not know what “pad thai” is, but that she’d never had thai food. After I picked my jaw up off the floor and immediately started making plans to remedy that. We thought we may go up to my favorite neighborhood place, Sura, but thought we’d stick around midtown so she wasn’t too far away from trains when the clock struck midnight and she’d turn into a pumpkin she wanted to go home and catch some zzz’s. So we ventured to the distant land of 10th ave., hoping to catch Wondee Siam’s awesome “2 for 1” cocktail hour, only to discover that that oh-so-special special only exists at Wondee Siam “I” on the UWS…not the lonely III in Hell’s Kitchen. But we stuck around anyway, paid full price for some delicious wine and went to town introducing my aunt the joys of pad thai.

Dinner was delish, and we grabbed another drink on the way back to Penn. By the time I got home, it was bedtime again! Story of my life…or at least story of my week.

I woke up far earlier than I intended and thought that was a-okay, because I could get a run in and free up my evening for laundry and other things, like letting my cat know I’m alive and washing the dishes from the chili I made on Tuesday…

Only my foot said no. Said no in a big, loud “you’re not running this morning and I’d like to prevent you from running in Bermuda as well” sort of way. So I went back to sleep. Sigh.

And I’ve been too swamped at work to test out how the foot is feeling about any real sort of movement…Sad, I know. But we’ll have a little pep talk and see if Foot is feeling up for at least a quick spin class later tonight.

Everyone keeps telling me it’s time to see a doctor. Three weeks of on and off pain (some days rainbows and butterflies and others throbbing, screaming, pounding “I hate you” hurting)? Yes, I know I need to see a doctor. But due to having turned 26 in August (and getting kicked off Obamacare) and having started this job in November…I’m not at the poopy 3-month mark that grants me a shiny new insurance card. So looks like its more whining to you fine people, hoisting it up in bags of ice while stuck in the cube and crossing my fingers that this is just an ongoing, very cruel joke being played on me by Foot, and it will soon come to an end.

Happy Happy Thursdayyyy friends!

Have a great rest of the day/evening 🙂

3 Responses to “Only Thursday?”


  1. 1 Sass January 12, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Am I the only person in the world who had never had Thai food? Thanks for widening my horizons!! It was delish!!!!!

  2. 2 sweatpassionandtears January 12, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    Wait, your work takes 3 months to get insurance??? I thought 30 days was standard. Can you go on your BF’s?

    More importantly, are you seriously going to the Bahama’s this weekend??? Cause if you are, I’m a wonderful travel companion and would go in a minute haha

  3. 3 Laura January 13, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    Absolutely DO NOT stress about not making it to Bermuda this weekend. We will do a beach running vacation another time, promise! Just rest up 🙂


Leave a Reply

