More East Side Escapades

In the last 24 hours, I’ve done a lot of sweating.

Some of you may find that gross. I find it pretty awesome.

Last night I hit up the gym, as promised, to get back to spin class and a little jaunt on the dreadmill. This has sort of been routine in the last few weeks, so you probably don’t care to hear the deats, but I thought I’d let you know last nights instructor was pretty kick-ass. She was almost up to par with the first-ever spin instructor I came across almost a year ago (you know, the one I thought was an Army Seal fitness coach). I’m pretty sure I was one of THOSE people who left a few drops of sweat on the floor under my bike. I used to be grossed out by THOSE people. Now I’m pretty proud of a sweat that good. Bahaha.

Cycling split up two, two-mile runs on the treadmill, and by the time I got home I was worried that I’d jumped back in the saddle too quickly after my foot had finally started feeling better. Aka, I was worried that I’d slow Laura down this morning, as we jogged over to the East Side for a Fat-Blasting Cardio sesh at the Athleta of the upper east side.

I’ve never done a bootcamp class of any kind before, so when Laura asked if I was up for this, I was a little hesitant. Aside from my recent enthusiasm for spin, group classes have never been my forte. But the class was FREE and it involved cardio, so I figured why not? A plus, was picking up a new running friend on the UWS (wootwoot).

Well the class was indeed free (and the people hosting it were all super nice and peppy at the lovely hour of 7 a.m., and provided free bottles of Hint and luna bars on top of the freeee class) and it certainly involved a bit of cardio…but it also involved a LOT of lunges, planks and push-ups. Within the first 10 minutes I was dripping in sweat and cursing myself for not doing more weight exercises over the last few months. My muscles were feeling the burn. Fortunately (or not, if you’re the kind of person that likes it when your quads and shoulders scream at you so early in the morning), the hardcore stuff only really lasted through the warm-up–not that that makes any sense. I think our super peppy and friendly instructor got a little intimidated when his tai-chi kicks weren’t having the desired effects on the class, and he slowed things down and slowed them down fast. Overall though, I’d give the class a thumbs up, and would definitely go back for more…after I spend some quality time in the weight room. Big thanks to Athleta/Zeel for fitness for the people 🙂

And after this whirlwind day of work I’ll return to the UES (forget twice in one week, twice in one day?!) to pick up my race packet for tomorrow’s 10k. *This may very well result in us perusing the restaurant options in the neighborhood, as we continue to try to figure out where we head next (thought more and more people have been cheering for the UWS these days). I’m debating wearing my marathonwiner tshirt for the road runner race (courtesy of the JD) that I sported on real Race Day (duh), but not sure how fast I’ll be, and therefore not sure if I’m brave enough to draw attention to myself during the run. We’ll see what happens…

Afterwards I’ll head straight to a Gotham Writer’s Workshop for the rest of the day. I purchased a Groupon for half off a class back in July and I’m finally cashing in on it! Better late than never, eh? And Saturday night is set aside for a special dinner date for me and the JD. I can’t wait 🙂

Sunday morning will (foot-permitting) bring another 6-mile run with the lovely Laura and some other ladies she’s rallied to hit up Central Park for a jog, followed by a Cassoulet Cook-off at Jimmy’s 43 in the east village. What better way to top off a nice run in the park than by stuffing our faces full of….(hold while I look up what cassoulet is)….bean stew and casserole?!  That’s right, I jumped on board for this event without having any idea of what the food I’d be consuming was because I figure you can’t go wrong with combining running and a cook-off of any kind.

So that’s the weekend line-up. It’s busy, busy, but filled with lots of fun events. Just a few more hours of work til it all kicks off!

Have a very happy Friday, and an even better weekend 🙂

1 Response to “More East Side Escapades”


  1. 1 Laura January 6, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Cassoulet is SO yummy and delicious – you are going to love it! Plus awesome craft beer – Jimmy’s is awesome.

    (Note: I first learned what cassoulet was when they started making it like every week on Top Chef).

    Can’t wait for Sunday!


Leave a Reply

