But I Don’t Wannaaa Be a Gym Rat

Ok, maybe I DO want to be a gym rat. It’d be cool to be one of those girls who does like 3 different workout classes on top of their 10 mile morning runs and still squeezes in time to work a full-time job, enjoy nightlight in New York City and volunteer for organizations that bring little babies back to good health and rescue puppies on the regular. But alas, I will never be one of them.

As it is though, I’m turning into a different sort of said rat. One that spends all of her non-working and non-sleeping hours at the gym due to a deranged foot (I know you’re a little sick and tired of hearing about this by now), but also due to a lack of any sort of heat in her apartment. That’s right kids, our apartment currently has no heat OR hot water. Which is especially awesome considering the lack of warmth in my humble abode perfectly coincided with NY’s decision to FINALLY give way to winter temperatures.

I went to the gym last night with plans to do my new favorite combo–400s and some cycling. But my earlier attempt to “warm up” before the spin class by doing the sprints around the faux track on the treadmill had been thwarted due to that never-ending, nagging foot pain, so I hit up the ellip and checked out the newest residents of the Biggest Loser ranch.

Afterwards, sufficiently sweaty, I headed home in the brisk wind with thoughts of a hot dinner and a hot shower dancing in my head, and plans to head to bed early and see if I could attempt to get back on the pavement. Soon after, though, I learned that there was no such thing as hot anything living in my apartment.

I went to bed bundled up, and dreams of a morning run shattered, because there was no way I was going to endure a freezing cold sweat session at 6 a.m. and not at least have some hot water to come home to.

Instead, I left my alarm set for 6 and mentally prepared myself for a morning trip to the gym (not gonna lie, NOT running in 15 degree weather was not the most disappointing thing in the world), with high hopes of making it to the 7:00 spin class and squeezing in a few other sweatastic activities before work. Only I was shunned at the cycling studio door because all of those New Years resolutionists had filled up the class and I had failed to sign up in advance. Note to those who don’t believe in/think I’m a jerk for being annoyed by these January-gymgoers: there were only 7 people in this same class last week.

Crushed by lack of preparation and with full knowledge that leaving it to myself to recreate the same spin-classesque sweat on the ellip would lead to epic fail…I went back to the dreadmill to give those 400s another shot. I know, I know, I knowwww. I’m supposed to not do anything heavy-impact if I want my foot to heal, but I also needed to think about my head. And if I let 5 days of the New Year go by without a run I might have gone a little crazy. So to the track I went…and covered very LIGHT mileage (4 miles)….albeit, at a pretty speedy pace (the same intervals of 7:30 sprint/9:00 recovery with an 8:something cooldown to bring me to a solid 4).

It was a great workout, yes. And I really think that my foot may be on the road to recovery (how long have I been saying that now?) but I don’t want these frequent gym trips to turn me into a weenie for cold-weather running! The last time I ran outside (granted, it was only this past Saturday…who says global warming doesn’t exist?) I was wearing shorts and a long sleeve tee. If I make it out tomorrow and the next day (so want to be able to keep my running date with Laura!) and the next day, I’m scared I’ll be slow, and turn into an icicle less than a mile in. I miss outdoor running (I am SO putting the whiner in marathonwiner today). Bad. And what at time to be missing out on it, what with a half marathon a few weeks away…

And now I’m afraid my body is getting accustomed to the indoor sweat. Not cool.

(This is where a whitegirlproblem hashtag belongs, eh?)

Any who, it’s off to work this marathonwiner goes.

Have a happy hump day 🙂

– What’s your favorite INDOOR workout?

– How do you stay sane while trying to stay off an injury?

4 Responses to “But I Don’t Wannaaa Be a Gym Rat”


  1. 1 Amanda Conner January 4, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    no judgment on the gym complaints. new years resolutioners are the worst. there was one year when i basically STOPPED working out for like three months because the gym was such an annoying place to be. i was a reverse-resolutioner.

  2. 2 Sass January 4, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    all sounding a bit obsessive to me….just sayin’

  3. 3 thethinksicanthink January 4, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    Spinning by far….most equivalent edorphin rush to running…

  4. 4 RunToTheFinish January 5, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    i definitely thing it’s maybe that you are going through a phase and one that sounds like your foot needs 🙂


Leave a Reply

