Anyone Have a Spare Foot?

I could really use one.

Once again I went to bed with all of my running clothes neatly laid out on my dresser in hopes of hopping out of bed at 6 a.m. for a nice run in the crisp, cold weather that’s finally settled into NYC.

And once again I woke up with the alarm, wiggled my foot around and felt…well, pain is no longer the word I would use but certainly discomfort. And since I resolved to listen to my body when it tells me not to do something, I let my stupid foot win out once again. My foot is a weenie and I want a new one. I am three days into the new year and have yet to go for a run. NOT the way I wanted to start 2012, but I’ll get over it.

While the first two days of this new year were set aside for my drama queen of a left foot, that’s changing today, and I’ll at least hit up the gym after work with my new favorite workout combo–400’s plus a spin class. I’m pretty excited about this class because as many of us know, gyms tend to fill up in January with those throngs of people dedicated to dropping 10 pounds in the New Year. They hog the elliptical for all of January and February, knock off two or five pounds and then slowly disappear. Any who, I didn’t call NYSC until after I woke up this morning and realized a run wasn’t happening, and I still managed to get a slot in the class, so I’m pretty stoked.

I’m also stoked that I found another NYCares volunteer event that I really, really loved last night–serving food at a church on the Upper East Side. The group who serves this Monday night meal to those in need is awesome, because they refer to their diners as their guests, and the meal is served more like it would be at a restaurant, vs. a soup kitchen. The guests came in around 7:00 and were seated at nicely set tables with real china, and us volunteers served them their three-course meal with all of the care and urgency bestowed upon the guests I waited on for those two months of restaurant work back in the fall. Only this time, the clientele was a little more polite, and a lot more gracious. It was a great experience and I’m definitely considering making this one a regular event on my calendar.

OMG. I JUST WROTE 4832904 PARAGRAPHS AND WORDPRESS LOST IT. For the first time in a while, I’m busy at work (this is a GOOD thing, I LIKE work when I’m on the go-go) so I don’t have time to try to rewrite it all 😦

To recap:

– the JD and I ate dinner on the UES last night at MXCO (decided it was delish, but overpriced for what you get–I’m used to Virginia Mexican restaurants that serve up 80 pounds of burrito, rice, beans and a pitcher of sangria for the same price as one uptown taco in NYC)

– our lease is up in Feb so we were scoping out the hood…turns out, it’s the twin of the UWS, and actually has many of the same places (key on that list, 16 Handles and Blockheads)

– someone please tell me how I hurt my foot, and better yet, how I can fix it

– crap I don’t even remember any more of what I just spent an hour writing, so you’re off the hook having to read any more

HAPPY TUESDAY!

WordPress, I have a bone to pick with you. BLURG.

7 Responses to “Anyone Have a Spare Foot?”


  1. 1 Tracy January 3, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Do you think it might be PF? The first thing in the morning bit makes me wonder.

  2. 2 sweatpassionandtears January 3, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    What’s your foot pain like? I had an “acky” feeling pain in the ball of my foot and the guy at JackRabbit told me it could be because my shoes are too small (my toes were at the end and didn’t have the 1inch leeway you should have). I got bigger size shoe and they haven’t hurt since.

    But if the pain is really bad you may have a stress fracture, in which case you should bee a doctor ASAP!

  3. 3 marathon winer January 3, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    eeks. i dont think its PF…its on the top middle part of my foot, which is sorta weird.
    all of my running shoes are a size larger, as recommended, but maybe the problem is my old sneaks wore out and i wore running shoes for non-running gym activities?
    bahhhhh
    and holding off on a doc cause insurance hasnt kicked in yet!

  4. 4 rainingdogsncats January 3, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    Ill trade a foot for a knee

  5. 5 Laura January 4, 2012 at 11:47 am

    No good advice on the foot, unfortunately. But as far as the neighborhoods, I find that a LOT of things are repeated on the UES and UWS, probably because they attract similar people but it’s hard to get between them. Unless you run! 🙂


  1. 1 But I Don’t Wannaaa Be a Gym Rat « Marathon Winer Trackback on January 4, 2012 at 11:53 am
  2. 2 Taking the Whine out of Winer « Marathon Winer Trackback on January 5, 2012 at 2:07 pm

Leave a Reply

