Stuck in a Holiday Rut?

What I really wanted to title this post was Stuck in a Holiday Rut…with a Brand New Holiday Gut. You know how I love to rhymeeee 🙂 And I’m not necessarily singing that lovely little diddy with a frown on my face. Because I’ve enjoyed every moment of my end of the year overindulgence.

I can’t believe it’s already December 27th, and I’m technically two days into my National Half Marathon training plan…though I haven’t done too much in the way of training. Between Punta Cana, Christmas and New Years, my marathonwiner world has been heavy on the wine (and cookies and other holiday/vacay deliciousness) and super light on the marathoning…or half-marathoning training, as it is.

But let’s rewind for a hot-sec.

In case you missed last week’s two Christmas giveaways, let me catch you up on those real quick.

Timmer, you were the winner of the honey stinger giveaway. I know you’re usually a glue-to-your-computer-screen sort of dedicated reader, but I understand the holidays leave little time to be wasted on blogs. Unfortunately, I must give you until tomorrow night to email or DM me on Twitter with your Honeystinger product of choice and mailing address before I must pick another winner. So contact me! Pretty please! I want you to get your waffles!

As for the TryChips giveaway….well, let’s get serious. I think I was one of 4 people in all of Manhattan who had to work on Friday, much less was at a computer to be able to read a blog, MUCH LESS have the time to do the many things to gain entry into a giveaway. So TryChips is open until tomorrow night as well, with a winner announced on Thursday morning. Have at it kids!

When I left you Friday I was riding a kid-like Christmas high from the gifts bestowed upon me by the JD and his mother. unfortunately, as soon as I left work I was bee lining it to LaGuardia to catch a plane to Richmond and once there was so busy spreading Christmas cheer, singing loud for all to hear and otherwise enjoying being at home with fam that I had ZERO time to play with my new Garmin. Hopefullllly I can find a hot second to do so tonight!

While I did spend a lot of time hanging out with family and friends, playing games and gorging on homemade sugar cookies, I did manage to squeeze in just a fewwww sweat sessions, consisting of jogs around my parents neighborhood ranging from 30-50 minutes (and therefore hopefully somewhere between 3-5.5 miles) two days, a quick trip to the local YMCA (sneaking in via my sisters membership card) and about an hours worth of ice skating in downtown Richmond with my two little cousins and niece (by far, my favorite of all of the weekend workouts). I only landed on my toosh once, and that was while diving on the ice to try to prevent my adorable niece from wiping out. I failed, but I at least cushioned her fall 🙂

Once a blister set in I lost the skates and the fam and I headed to Legends Brewery across the James River, and across from the James Center…which happened to be the very spot where I crossed the finish line of the Suntrust Richmond Marathon just a month and a half ago. I of course forced everyone in the car with me to listen as I pointed out various points along the route while I told my tale of my biggest accomplishment of 2011 and quite possibly, my life.

Which brings me back to my first thought…I have a half marathon to train for. And sort of havent even decided on what plan I plan on following. Even quickly looking at Hal’s intermediate half training plan (don’t jest, I have the book–which I got for free thankyouverymuch–sitting right in front of me, so it’s an obvious frontrunner) I’m sort of behind, because it called for a rest day yesterday, a three-mile run today, and 400’s tomorrow. Well. I did the elliptical and ice skating yesterday. Have yetttt to get out the door for a run today (and have a foot that conveniently decided to start hurting in an “icanhardlywalkmuchlessrun” sort of way). And 400’s? I haven’t even begun to research how to properly do speedwork. BAH! Help me! I’m stuck in a holiday rut!

– How was yourrr holiday weekend?

– More importantly, HOW DO I DO 400’s???? HOW DO I WORK MY GARMIN?

4 Responses to “Stuck in a Holiday Rut?”


  1. 1 Tracy December 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Step one: warm up run to track.
    Step two: run 1 lap, while timing it.
    Step three: repeat 🙂

  2. 2 sweatpassionandtears December 27, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    You’ve already run 26.2 miles, I think it would be OK if you start a couple of days late to train for 13.1!

    As for speed work…400 = 0.25miles (or 1 lap around a track). To figure out your goal time, you can use the nifty calculator on this page:

    http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/

    Basically run hard for 0.25 miles and run slow for whatever lotted amount your plan says and repeat. You’re Garmin has a function where you can put in the intervals under “training.”

    Hope that helps 🙂 Now please get out there running so you can join me soon…and speed past me haha


  1. 1 Early Bird Gets the Worm | rainingdogsncats Trackback on December 28, 2011 at 7:46 am
  2. 2 Confessions of a Marathonwiner « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

