A Holiday from the Holidays

Three years from now when I am the CEO of a wildly successful company that the entire world loves for all of its philanthropic good-doing and the fact that it gave jobs back to thousands that are currently looking for work, not only am I going to give all of my employees the week off from Christmas through New Years (as so many are already doing, and therefore its a given that EVERYONE should…though my current company has yet to catch on to that), but I will likely also give them the week off before Christmas (again, because so many are out of the office visiting family and friends anyway, and then its three days before the big day and there are sad few people sitting by their lonesome in their flourescent-lit cube. They should go home and watch Elf and use wrapping ribbon to play with their kitties, at the very least). On top of that, I shall ALSO make a point to hold the holiday office party…in late January or sometime in February.

December, especially in its final weeks is no time to try to squeeze in a party. People are far too busy taking care of shopping and laughing and wrapping and smiling and going to other holiday parties. So as the world’s greatest employer, I shall wait until all of the holiday hubbub has died down and people have finally had time to relax,  but winter is at its worst and they need a little pick-me-up. And I will throw my employees a holiday party to help them unwind from the holidays. (Start tallying how many times I’ve used the word “holiday” in this post. Ready, go).

But for now, I’ll suffer through the December holiday parties. For instance, the “two” I attended yesterday. My office is in the middle of a GINORMOUS move and many people are working until the wee hours of the morning trying to get things ready for an insanely busy January, so it was understandable that they couldn’t rent out a swanky room near Rockefeller plaza for our office gathering. Instead, we had a lunched provided by Southern Hospitality and received lovely cards filled with AMEX gift cards. No complaints here.

After work yesterday, I headed to Chinatown for the JD’s office partay. It was held at a dim sum restaurant right off of Grand Street–a very interesting pick for the Christmastime shindig, but yummy and fun nonetheless. After eating ourselves into a food coma and whining for our beds, we headed home on the B train–one I don’t typically take. So when they announced the next stop was Rockefeller Plaza and I knew there was some abnormally warm weather going on outside (high 50s on the first day of winter? whaaat?), we decided to hop off and go get in the spirit by paying a little visit to this guy:

oh christmas tree, how i never get tired of seeing you. oh and yes, that’s me, playing where’s waldo upfront

Shortly after taking this photo and commenting on how unusually nice the temps/weather were…we were struck by a monsoon at the southeast end of the park. Aka, not a subway in sight for the short span of time that hurricane-like rain decided to pelt us.

We got home super late, and super soaked. I somehow managed to wrap up a single Christmas gift before hitting the hay and hitting it hard.

This morning when my alarm went off, the very last thing I wanted to do was get up. But, the reservoir was calling me so off I went.

my anger at everyone still curled up in their beds subsided significantly once i came across this beaut.

 Between the late nights of holiday dinner parties at home and office parties out and about the city, and 6 a.m. wakeup calls for runs and spin classes, I was tired all over the place this morning. My run was SLOW and my legs were heavy. But for the first time in a while I didn’t overdress (win!) so I was comfortable, albeit pokey. And pretty views made me happy, albeit sleepy.

Now somehow, it’s already Thursday. And I have just tonight to take care of all of my last-minute shopping, wrapping, NYC Christmastime sight-seeing (yes, I’m still a touristizen), packing and so on before taking off to Richmond (yet again :)) tomorrow afternoon. It’s go time!

Oh, what’s that? You waited through that entire run-on of boring marathonwiner thoughts only to see who the winner of the Honey Stinger giveaway is? Okay, okay. I’ll tellll you. Drum roll, please…

The winner of one box of stroopwaffles (or really whatever they choose, though this was listed as a fav :)) is Timmer!!

Please email me at marathonwiner@gmail.com or DM on Twitter with your product of choice and mailing address!!

Thanks all for playing, and worry not…because I have YET ANOTHER CHRISTMAS PRESENT/GIVEAWAY FOR YOU! And this time, there’s room for TWO winners!

My good friends over at TryChips have agreed to giveaway one mixed sample box of their yummy treats. Trychips are potato chips for those who love flavor and crunch without the side of grease (and in all fairness, salt). They are made of 100% real fruit and super charged with good-for-you things like green tea! I first discovered them at the expo for my first-ever half marathon in Philly in 2010. Tim and Jerry themselves were manning the booth, sharing their awesome goodies and their AWESOME story.

They’ve got three signature flavors and you’ve got a chance to win a box of 12 of them by doing the following things:

– Liking Trychips on Facebook (leave a comment letting me know you did so)

Following marathonwiner on Twitter (leave a comment letting me know you did so)

– Tweeting about this Giveaway (leave a comment letting me know you did so)

– Following this blog (leave a comment letting me know you did so)

– Sharing with us (in the comments) your biggest TRY story of 2011!

That’s five chances to win the big prize, and a second place winner will win a sample of each of the 3 flavors of TryChips!

Ready, get set…tryyyyyyyy to win this giveaway!

 

6 Responses to “A Holiday from the Holidays”


  1. 1 Laura December 22, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Anddddd just realized I entered the last giveaway too late. Oh well 🙂

    For this one: I follow you on Twitter and I follow your blog, and my biggest “try” story I guess would be that I “tried” going on a solo trip to a country where I don’t speak the language (Peru) and actually had a wonderful time! I felt super independent and proud of myself 🙂

  2. 2 sweatpassionandtears December 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    I already follow your blog and on twitter 🙂

    Happy Holidays!!! Hope they let you out of the office soon and you can start celebrating!


  1. 1 Movies and a Drink | rainingdogsncats Trackback on December 23, 2011 at 9:18 am
  2. 2 Christmas Came Early! « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 23, 2011 at 11:18 am
  3. 3 Stuck in a Holiday Rut? « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 27, 2011 at 4:09 pm
  4. 4 Confessions of a Marathonwiner « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

