Twas the day of a giveaway

and all through the blogosphere, not a reader gave two hoots about marathonwiners a.m. jog near Harlem’s meer.

That little piece of prose, ladies and gents, is why I am NOT a poet. Not only can I not rhyme in the right beat of the famous Christmas tale, I can’t even make a cutesy poem out of the truth. For this morning, I did not really go anywhere near the Harlem meers. I did my same ol’ jaunt around the bridle path and reservoir for an easy 6 miles or so.

I know I swore I would shake up both my running routes and workout routines and not bore you with the same recap of the same 2-loops every morning, but today was my re-introduction to NY/Central Park/Winter running after my week-long stay in paradise. I figured the lovely dirt laid out on the Bridle Path and Reservoir was as close to white sand as these legs were going to get…and that’s what they started getting used to all of last week.

if you squint hard enough while standing on the southeast corner of the bridle path, this is what you see…

 Now considering I hadn’t really covered more than 3 miles or so at any given time over the last week, and my usual stint on the ellip last night left me drenched in sweat, annnnd the fact that I slept through my alarm this morning by a ridiculous 45 minutes….this morning’s run went really well. I thought for sure it would take me two hours to cover the distance and I’d be crazy late for work and get fired and be unemployed all over again….all due to Pina Colada-laden legs. But it all worked out just peachy. I finished in a respectable time (kept by my kitchen microwave since I am still running sans watch) and made it to the office with 5 minutes to spare! Wootwoot!

Now I’ll shut up about all of the other little stresses and details awaiting marathonwiner world today and move on to the real reason you’re all here…a shot at a lovely little early Christmas/Hannukah/Kwanzaa/whathaveyou gift!

The lovely people who make the deliciousness that is HoneyStingers have agreed to let one of YOU very lucky readers try them out for freeeee.

For those of you who don’t know, I chowed down on one of their amazing stinger waffles (smothered in peanut butter) before many a long run–including both of my 18-milers–during marathon training. And they kept me charged up through every mile. Aunt Jemima’s got nothing on these bad boys. If you’ve got a big race coming up, and some Saturday long runs on the calendar, I highly suggest you do the following, and get yourself many an entry to try to win some of these energizing goodies:

1. Follow HoneyStingers on Twitter  (and leave a comment letting me know you did so).

2. Leave a comment telling me your favorite honey stingers product (deciding this will come in handy if you win)!

3. Follow me on Twitter (and leave a comment letting me know you did so).

4. Follow my blog (and leave a comment letting me know you did so).

5. Leave a comment telling me your favorite thing about Christmas (I wanted to throw something seasonal into the mix :))

So you’ve got FIVE ways to enter for a chance to win a full box of the HoneyStingers product of YOUR PICK!

That is so nice of those cheery people over at HoneyStingers! When was the last time Aunt Bertha let you pick out the sweater she sent you for Christmas? My guess is never. Or maybe Bertha wised up and started sending you gift cards or checks. Or maybe you like her sweaters…and maybe I need to hush now.

REGARDLESS….start entering now because this giveaway ends tomorrow night at 10 pm! I’ve got to announce the winner Thursday so I can get moving on yet ANOTHER Christmas giveaway before Christmas is already here. Goodlordy it snuck up!

Happy Happy Tuesday kids 🙂

17 Responses to “Twas the day of a giveaway”


  1. 1 sweatpassionandtears December 20, 2011 at 11:24 am

    1) I followed Honey Stinger
    2) I already follow you
    3) I love their energy chews
    4) I followed your blog (since I read it every day anyways!)
    5) Favorite thing about Christmas is getting together with the family!

    If you can’t tell, I’m excited to try more honey stinger products!

  2. 2 fionarwbl December 20, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I follow honey stinger and you on twitter. I love their honey blossom chews (can i eat them all the time instead of just running?).

    best thing about holidays? planning my cookfest for my friends and family 🙂

  3. 3 kate quigley December 20, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    1) I follow Honey Stingers on Twitter!
    2) I follow you on Twitter!
    3) I love their energy chews and bars
    4) I follow your blog
    5) My favorite thing about Christmas is the music, family festivities and food!

    Love your blog!!

  4. 4 rainingdogsncats December 20, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    1. I liked honey stingers on fb
    2. I dont have twitter 😦
    3. I have no idea, but if I ever want to attempt that half in march Ill need something
    4. I follow your blog now!
    5. I could be cheesy and say you….that might be playing favorites, but most definitely Family, the music and the christmas tree

  5. 5 ashley December 20, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    I follow honey stingers in twitter

  6. 6 ashley December 20, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    I absolutely love the waffles!

  7. 7 ashley December 20, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I followed you on twitter!

  8. 8 ashley December 20, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Favorite thing about christmas is being with family!

  9. 9 Seth Spurlock December 21, 2011 at 3:34 am

    1) I already follow Honey Stinger
    2) I already follow you
    3) I love their honey stinger golds and there waffles
    4) I followed your blog (since I read it every day a couple times a week anyways!)
    5) Favorite thing about Christmas is getting together with the family and enjoys good food and making out with all my family members. I know that sound really crazy but im from West Virginia we keep it real like that. But Ok Im kidding around with u…but for real family food and gift giving is a high lights of the day. And can’t forget about little baby Jesus he’s the reason for the day right…amen

  10. 10 Timmer December 21, 2011 at 11:35 am

    1. Check!

    2. Absolutely the stroopwaffles!! Just tried the strawberry for the first time this AM actually but have been a longtime honey addict

    3. Just did!

    4. Consider yourself “followed”

    5. The cheer, the excuse for parties and hanging out with others who care about you, and of course the food!

    • 11 marathon winer December 22, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      hi timmer! you won the giveaway!! could you please try to DM or email me your mailing address and honeystinger product preference asap??

  11. 12 Laura December 22, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    2. I haven’t tried Stingers, but those waffles sound AWESOME.
    3. I follow you on Twitter
    4. I follow your blog
    5. My favorite thing about Christmas is how happy everyone is on Christmas Day. NYC can be a very lonely/cold place, in that people just go about their business without acknowledging each other, so I like that on Christmas when I walk around, people smile and say “Merry Christmas” to strangers.

    • 13 marathon winer December 22, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      aww sorry for the late entry laura, but i highly recommend trying the waffles anyway 🙂 loooove em! perhaps ill bring you one as a belated xmas gift next time we attempt to run together…promise i wont bail!!


  1. 1 Christmas Town | rainingdogsncats Trackback on December 20, 2011 at 9:37 pm
  2. 2 It’s the Holiday Season « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 21, 2011 at 1:38 pm
  3. 3 Confessions of a Marathonwiner « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

