Back to Reality

Hiiiii friends! Happy Monday and Happy holycraphowaretheyherealready Holidays!

Spending a week in paradise in the middle of December makes it reallllly easy to forget that Christmas is literally right around the corner! Eeks!

Yes, I spent the last week here:

dear palms, i love my christmas tree but i miss you soooooo

The weather forecast for Punta Cana the day before we headed south was rain, rain and more rain. And it rained a lot shortly after we landed in the Dominican Republic, which made me a bit nervous. But after a quick downpour after de-planing, it was nothing but sunshine and beautiful blue skies for the rest of the week.

I had had it in my head that I would be sticking to a pretty good sweat schedule while away, but most of that sweating was simply a result of the 80-degree temps 🙂 I did, however, manage to get a few workouts in…albeit, short ones. The house we were staying at was located on a gorgeous golf course that had a lovely paved golf cart path. Perfect for running!

i love running in central park, but i could get used to this too

Due to wanting to get back to the house’s infinity pool, the company of my hilariously fun travel crowd and the white sandy beaches, most of my runs didn’t last more than about 30 minutes or so. And this particular route around the golf course was only traversed in a solo run twice. Because on the second one, I ran into this:

welcome to the arachnophobic’s worst nightmare

 (source)

Okay. So I cannot confirm that it was this EXACT species of spiders I stumbled upon while on a jog. But I swear to you, whatever 8-legged monster I saw was at least this scary, and bigger than my hand. Normally, I’m all about seeing the creatures and animals that naturally live in a certain locale. I loved all of the different birds, SMALL bugs, snails, shells and other critters that we came across. I may have even liked meeting this guy…through a very thick glass in some sort of zoo. But on the wide open path of a golf green all by my lonesome? No, thank you. Needless to say, I stayed off THAT path from that point on.

The rest of my runs consisted of bathing suit clad, barefoot trips up and down the beach before settling into a lounge chair with a rum and pineapple. I also managed to (for probably the first time in about 12 years) do a decent amount of swimming in the pool attached to the house. I learned that I STINK at swimming, and a triathlon is likely nowhere in my future, but I certainly did enjoy it and really want to make an effort to get to the pool at NYSC more often. Fingers crossed that that actually happens.

Overall, it was a week full of awesomeness and I was very sorry to say goodbye to the vibrant Caribbean colors and temperatures and even sadder to the freezing cold that welcomed us back to New York on Saturday night. A big, big thanks to all of you who continued to tune in to marathonwiner world in my absence, and an even BIGGER thank you to those who kept marathonwiner alive and kickin’ with their kickass blog posts! If you didn’t get a chance to see Meghann on the Moves tips on cold-weather running, Pavement Runners post on the run-work commute, how Jill Will Run maintains the joys of running, proper hydration techniques courtesy of Racing Stripes or found out what SweatPassionandTears has learned from running, I highly suggest you do so…stat!

Once you’re all caught up with that, hopefully I’ll be all caught up with life [and more importantly, running] in good ‘ol New York City! I’ve got a lot to do this week between running, gymming, Christmas shopping and Christmas partying, so must hop to it!

And while I’m veryyyy behind in Christmas shopping for my nearest and dearest family and friends, I’ve got all of you lovely blog readers and runners very much taken care of! Tune in tomorrow for an awesome giveaway, courtesy of HoneyStingers! And another fun surprise coming Thursday! Merrrrry Christmas kiddos!

 

 

 

 

7 Responses to “Back to Reality”


  1. 1 Kelly December 19, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    OMG, I would have absolutely, positively passed out on the spot if I had seen that. Truly, my greatest fear. I have goosebumps.

    Glad you had a great trip though! Welcome to sub freezing temps 🙂

  2. 2 marathon winer December 19, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    yeahhhhh. definitely one of the scarier moments of my life. the sad part is though i was too scared to stick around and take a real photo!! central park may be freezing but atleast you wont run into one of those guys!!

  3. 3 krissy m. murphy December 19, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    Hey, are you around this weekend? Me and my husband are coming for a trip dec 24-26 and one of my big bucket list items since starting running has been to run in central park but i have NEVER been to NYC and am kind of wimpy…..

    • 4 marathon winer December 19, 2011 at 9:14 pm

      bahhh! i SOOOO would LOOOVE to be your central park tour guide! unfortunately im heading to richmond for christmas with my family 😦 i wish it were annnnny other weekend! but youll love new york so much im sure youll be back! 🙂

      • 5 krissy m. murphy December 19, 2011 at 9:27 pm

        no worries 😀 have a wonderful time in richmond! we are kinda switching places!! merry christmas, girl!!


  1. 1 Twas the day of a giveaway « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 20, 2011 at 11:15 am
  2. 2 Sand vs. Snow « Marathon Winer Trackback on January 23, 2012 at 2:10 pm

Leave a Reply

