Sweat Cycle

Good morning and happy Thursday kids!

I hope you all had as delightful of an evening as I did last night. After work I headed down Broadway for my first project through NYCares. Last night’s gig? Sewing capes. Yes, you read that right. I was working with some other very lovely and very friendly volunteers at Only Make Believe, an awesome organization that brings entertainment (via professional actors and volunteer-made costumes) to little ones that are sick, down on their luck, or otherwise in need of some cheer. After an original performance by the troupe from Only Make Believe, the kiddies are allowed to break into a box full of sunshine, and play dress-up themselves in crowns, capes and other fun, handmade [with love] gear.

I worked with another volunteer on a very “manly” cape for a little boy (apparently there’s always far too many with lace, button and bows, so we decked ours out in jersey mesh and a pattern of skull and crossbones. If I was a 7-year-old boy, I’m sure I’d dig it. As per usual, I failed big time at snapping any photos, BUT a reporter from a local TV station who was doing a segment on the various volunteer opportunities in this dear, old, dirty town was there working with us. We very well maaaay be on TV in the near future, and I very well may share that link with you. Or do everything in my power to hide it, seeing as how I had to walk through one heck of a rainstorm to get to Only Make Believe HQ last night.

Once home the JD and I made some pizza (and I mean actually MADE, not ordered from Sal and Carmine’s, put on plates and called it a home-cooked meal), tuned into some Christmas movies and got a head start filling out Christmas cards. Last night was all about the warm and fuzzies.

And this morning, while the temperatures outside have finally hit normal Christmas time temps, this morning was also warm. And sweaty. And a bit gross.

Because this morning I FINALLY. MADE IT. TO. A SPIN CLASS!

Woohoo! Throw some confetti, because this was a monumental accomplishment.

I’ve been meaning to get my but into a stationary cycle seat since November 13th. You know, the day after I ran a marathon

just in case you hadnt seen it. this is what my marathon medal looks like...

and swore that I would spend a few weeks giving my legs a break and getting into some other fun fitness ventures.

Well, the legs never really got much of a break. My mileage has gone down significantly, and I’ve replaced a few runs with elliptical sprints, but overall, I haven’t done anything NEW or DIFFERENT post-marathon than what I was doing pre-marathon.

I went to a spin class waaayyy back in the spring and remembered it being the greatest sweat-session of my life. I seriously think I released more H20 in that 45-minute cycle sesh than I did during my 26.2-mile trek around Richmond.

see? you can hardly even see the sweat. who cares if it was 45 degrees outside vs 95 in the cycle studio. that has little to do with anything.

Well, this morning was no different. I never thought I could get up at 6 a.m. and get in a hard enough workout that I’d want to wring my clothes out afterwards, but spin class is just the place to make that happen. The instructor this morning was not nearlyyy as cool (or as badass) as the woman who taught back in the spring (not ONLY was she more hardcore in the workout, but she was actually doing it with us), but he was still super nice and motivational, and the end-product was about the same so no complaints on my part.

Afterwards I did a cool down on the elliptical (what can I say? can’t break old habits), a few crunches and free weights and suited up for the office.

Just the other day, while having drinks, I was telling Katherine that I was definitely NOT a morning gym person. Bring me a pair of sneakers and an alarm clock any day of the week, and I’m happy to get my sweat on in the great outdoors…but for some reason, a.m. gym visits have never, ever appealed to me. Until now. Guess a little cycle sweat is just what I needed!

Hope you have a great day! Stay warm and stay sweatyyyyy!

– Any other group classes you’d recommend? I’m tempted to try a few more now…

– What’s your latest warm and fuzzy?

5 Responses to “Sweat Cycle”


  1. 1 thethinksicanthink December 8, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    where do you spin? I’ve always wanted to!

  2. 2 marathon winer December 8, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    ive only done it at nysc…like i said, the first one was AWESOME the second one the trainer wasnt as enthusiastic but still a good workout. theres a few standalone cycle places that you can do classes at, but you have to shop around for a good price!

  3. 3 Kels December 8, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Kickboxing. Awesome stress reliever and huge calorie burner. Definitely my favorite class. Miss you!

    • 4 marathon winer December 9, 2011 at 10:27 am

      ooo yes. i should def look into that. i did a cyclebox class in college (ONE time haha) and remember it being an awesome workout


  1. 1 Crossing My Toes « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 30, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Leave a Reply

