The Idles of (Post)Marathoning

That was supposed to be a creative cover of “The Ides of March”. It makes little sense, but I’m sleepy and about 4 hours late on posting a blog for today. I need to get this show on the road, so that lame title is what you get.

A more appropriate title may be the Whines of December. Because you’ve heard me do a lot of that lately (told you marathonwiner was a misspell of whiner and not winner). And you may be about to hear me do more.

I miss training. Not just because I love seeing something on a to-do list (like, run 16 miles on Saturday and rest hard on Sunday) and relish in the accomplished feeling of checking it off, but because following a training plan and working toward a goal also made my blogging life much easier and much more organized. If I had a run that wasn’t particularly stellar I could instead recap my most recent running gear purchase or share my fears about race day or get giddy over the idea of crossing the finish line. But all of that has come and passed (what? you didn’t know I ran my first marathon? feel free to read all about it here). And I’m failing pretty hardcore at this “work on other fitness goals until it becomes time to train for the National (now RnR) Half Marathon.” 

Last night I went to the gym after work. I had not-so-accidentally failed to sign up for a spin class or any other group fitness class. I jumped on the elliptical for an hour of book reading and Jeopardy watching, sped through my “free-weight” routine and very happily called it a night. I had to cancel my MAXFIT360 BootCamp class for tomorrow night for the third time–but at least it was for a good cause (tomorrow night is my first volunteer project through NYCares, woohoo!). Alternative workout fail galore.

But I did wake up this morning and run 6ish lovely miles through my dirt paths with rain spitting down on and off. And then I got to work and continued to read recaps from this past weekend’s RnR races in Vegas. And rather than kick myself for not doing more ab work (SO needed) or experimenting more with Zumba and Crossfit (not even sure what that is…), I was kicking myself for not doing more than 6 miles. And for feeling like a lost little duckling without a training plan to follow. And for not being signed up for a race sooner than March.

So I want Christmas to get here because Christmas is the first official day of that particular training plan (guess I can go ahead and add “when you find yourself wishing for the fast arrival of a holiday for reasons completely unrelated to holiday festivities” to the “You Know You’re a Runner When…” list). I’m hoping that by following that plan, I’ll be able to stop eyeing mid-January half marathons and regain some of my sanity back.

That’s all for today, folks.

Sorry this is so annoyingly random.

 

 

2 Responses to “The Idles of (Post)Marathoning”


  1. 1 sweatpassionandtears December 6, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    I think you run more on your “non training” than I am on my training plan this week haha…

    I will be asking you about your March plan over wine shortly…

  2. 2 thethinksicanthink December 6, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I feel you on not having a training schedule. For my last non-training stint (May-June) I made a goal of doing 1 long run a week and as many other social runs as i could. For my new non-training stint + injury, I’m focusing on maintaining as much fitness as I can with aqua-jogging. Its not a fun of a goal , but it helps.

    I’m running RnR USA, too, but most definitely won’t be able to start training around Christmas!


Leave a Reply

