Thank You, Rain

I’m usually not a big fan of rain, unless it happens to arrive late at night in the middle of August and with some thunder and lightning in tow. I love summertime thunderstorms.

Rain can also be nice if it’s a lazy Saturday afternoon and you’re only goal for the day was to curl up on the couch and watch reruns of 90210 and Gilmore Girls (unfortunately, that has not been a viable plan on my schedule for about five years).

But for the most part, rain stinks. Because it usually doesn’t restrict its visits to summer nights and once-in-a-while-lazy-Saturday afternoons. Instead, it opts to come on the ONE day of the week I decide on my favorite Toms as my commuter shoes (while Toms are awesome because they ship shoes to places where they are very much needed, they don’t hold up too well in rain…seeing as they are made of canvas), or completely forget to check the weather and leave the house with no umbrella or any other device to protect myself from the wetness or pick the reservoir for my morning run–and I can tell you for a neat freak, it’s not nearly as fun to run circles in the mud vs. a pretty dirt path.

Except this morning, it was. Because of some WELCOME rain that hit yesterday. Of course I had a thin jacket and no umbrella and was considerably miserable on my commute home from work, but I think those showers served a similar purpose to my favorite summertime storms–they broke the heat wave. It’s not actually COLD out yet, but there’s definitely more of a chill in the air.

I know that doesn’t sound like something this sweat-loving, sun-basking marathonwiner might be happy about, but Thanksgiving has come and gone…which means the holiday season is here. And to fully immerse myself in all things warm and happy and mushy and lovey and really BE in the Christmas spirit, I need the weather outside to feel more like snow and less like south beach.

And this morning (while jumping puddles and dodging pedestrians) along the reservoir and bridle path, the temps felt far closer to Christmas than the 4th of July, but there was still plenty of sunshine. I was quite happy.

if anyone needs something to pull them out of the post-marathon blues...i'm pretty sure a little dose of this will do the trick

I did my usual 6.15 loop of the two dirt paths (which were really a mix of dirt and mud today), and while I thought about biting the bullet and going a little longer after yesterday’s very whiny post about not running far enough or fast enough, I decided to cut myself some slack. Aside from a few times on the reservoir where I literally had to slow to a walk to avoid stomping into a 6-inch-deep puddle or pushing a walker into one (I’m going to start petitioning the city of New York to make the reservoir closed to pedestrians on rainy days and the day immediately after a good sloshing), I kept up a pretty good pace. And if all goes well tomorrow, I’ll try to tack on an extra mile or two and slowly build my way up to 10 on Saturday–when I hit up the east side with Katherine, Ashley and Kristine.

The break in temps was definitely what I needed to help get a little more amped up for the holidays, and between seeing this on the way to work this morning:

hello pretty christmas trees, one of you WILL be in my apt before the week is up. i dont care if youre bigger than my fridge, i will make you fit and i will make you beautiful.

And the lighting of the Christmas Tree in Rockefeller Plaza tonight, I am Pumped. Yep-with a capital P.

 
Now if only I can figure out how to listen to Mariah Carey’s Christmas album on Pandora without using my broken headphones and without disturbing the entire office…
 
Have a very happy Wednesday kids!
 
 
-What gets YOU in the holiday spirit?
– How long after a marathon until you felt…well, normal?
3 Responses to “Thank You, Rain”


  1. 1 runningismagical December 1, 2011 at 12:29 am

    I’m with you – cooler/rainy weather reminds me that xmas time is just around the corner and I love it!! I’m also really embarrassing and listen to an ‘Nsync xmas’ station on Pandora a couple weeks before xmas. Haha.

  2. 2 thethinksicanthink December 3, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    After my first marathon, I’d say it took me at least a month to feel normal again when I ran. I only took 1 week off, which was too short. After my 2nd one, I took basically 3 weeks off (2 planned, then go sick the 3rd week). I let myself come back slowly and have fun with running until about apprx July. The endurance didn’t go that quickly, it was the speed. But, speed came back after time. I tried not to push anything too quickly so I didn’t get burned out. I’d say give yourself a month after to get back into running and feel normal again.

  3. 3 marathon winer December 4, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    bah. thanks meggie! i should probably take off a little more…however, not training has also meant worse diet…so then i feel the need to run and workout even more!!! haha.


Leave a Reply

