Happy Giveaway Day!

Happy Friday kids! And happy first-ever marathonwiner Giveaway day! More on that to come in a hot sec…but don’t worry, I won’t leave you hanging on too long, as the work day has already begun and I’ve got to get a move on things so I can get out of here at 6 on the dot, and welcome my very good friend–you know, the one I credit for getting me into running to begin with–to NYC!

After a quasi-productive trip to the gym last night–I say quasi because I’m still just easing my way back in via my old “CT” moves on the ellip, and not really challenging myself, as I kind of want to do during this downtime before half marathon training sets in–my legs felt far happier than they have in all of the preceding post-race days.

So this morning, I headed back over to the park for a loop of the bridle path and reservoir. It was a little chilly at the start, but not nearly as bad as I expected. And thanks to my lovely new NYC marathon expo gloves and Lululemon jacket (snagged on sale last year), I was actually TOO warm by the end, and never once felt hypothermia settling into my nose or toes. It was just the perfect return to my favorite little run–right temps, right amount of sunshine, right distance and the bright yellows and reds on the trees surrounding the reservoir was just the right touch! But those vibrant fall colors mixed with the nip in the air reminded me that HOLY CRAP, November is almost over. How did that happen?

It’s so weird to me that this time one year ago, I was a belly full of nerves getting ready for my first half marathon. And this time on week ago, I was a bigger belly full of nervier nerves getting ready for my first marathon. Actually that’s not entirely true…my porta potty stops prove that I may have been somehow a bit more mentally prepared for the latter….

And this time one week from now I’ll be home the most hilariously fun family in the world celebrating the greatest and bestest holiday in existence. This Thanksgiving and every Thanksgiving, I am enormously thankful for my family:

dear peacemaking pilgrims and indians, I owe so much of my happiness to you.

These are the thoughts I had on my mind for this mornings run. It’s a wonderful way to start the day. Glutes and hammies are still a little tight, but I credit that to my being very, very undisciplined when it comes to stretching. Something I REALLY need to nail down if I plan on keep up with this whole running thing…

Aside from those muscles being a little unwilling to unwind, I actually feel like my legs and body were FAR more weary in the days leading up to the marathon, which is a little strange to me. Has that happened to anyone else?

Anywho. I’ll keep this post short for you because like I said, have a fun NYC weekend that I must plan, in and around my workday. Woohoo for visitors!

And to make up for the time I’m NOT typing…and to reward you for putting up with all of my marathon talk this week…it’s time for the first-ever MARATHONWINER GIVEAWAY!

Hosted by the very nice people at Chobani yogurt. No really–they are the nicest. If you don’t believe me, read this.

Chobani essentially saved me from myself during marathon training, because during the peak of the peak, I was logging LOTS of miles on my feet–both in Central Park and at the restaurant I worked out. There were also late nights with long stretches of nothing to eat other than burgers and fries…or whatever I brought with me. To try to curb my training induced ravenous appetite and avoid piles of greasy french fries for dinner at 8:00 p.m., I brought Chobani to work. Basssically every single day. It was yummy. It was healthy. And most importantly, it held me over so I wouldn’t chow down on complete crap the night before a long run.

I know some people have their issues with yogurt. But even my cousin, whose food groups consist of plain chicken, plain burgers and plain pasta with a side of fruit, is officially hooked on this stuff.

And because they are so nice, Chobani is letting me send the case that I won in Lindsay’s giveaway, to my cousin. See how nice they are?

And now they will send another 12 pack of their yogurt, to one lucky reader. And they didn’t even request that you just read through all that propaganda. In fact, they didn’t even request that I write it. I just think their product is that good. So there.

So to be entered to win, do one or all of the following (each one earns an entry), and in the comments, tell me which one(s) you’ve done PLUS add something you love about Chobani orrrr to make me happy, something you are  thankful for this  Thanksgiving:

1. Follow Chobani on Twitter

2. Follow ME on Twitter

3. Like Chobani on Facebook 

4. Mention this @marathonwiner giveaway and @Chobani on Twitter!

Happy entering kids!

A random winner will be selected and announced on Wed. Nov. 23rd–the perfect Thanksgiving gift!

Have an awesomeeee weekend 🙂

17 Responses to “Happy Giveaway Day!”


  1. 1 krissy m. murphy November 18, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I follow Chobani on twitter – @krissymmurphy

  2. 2 krissy m. murphy November 18, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I also follow you on twitter 🙂

  3. 3 krissy m. murphy November 18, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I like Chobani on FB!

  4. 4 krissy m. murphy November 18, 2011 at 10:58 am

    …and I tweeted about your giveaway! 😀

  5. 5 Lindsay @ Lindsay's List November 18, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    I couldn’t possibly win this one! Just so glad it all worked out!! Chobani ROCKS!

  6. 6 Tracy November 18, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    I follow you on twitter, of course!

  7. 7 Tracy November 18, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    And now I follow Chobani on twitter, too!

  8. 8 thethinksicanthink November 19, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I follow you on twitter — and I eat chobani (plain kind) every day. Therefore, I NEED TO WIN!!!

  9. 9 Jill November 20, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    I follow you on twitter!

  10. 10 Jill November 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    i follow chobbbbbs on twitter 😉

  11. 11 Jill November 20, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    like them on facebook!

  12. 12 Jill November 20, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    and im thankful for YOU 🙂 hehe ill bake ya something special if i win THIS haha

  13. 13 Candice November 21, 2011 at 6:06 am

    I like Chobani on fb and am OBSESSED with the pineapple flavor! Congrats on your marathon! So proud of you!!

  14. 14 Annemarie November 21, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    I love Chobani. It’s my go to breakfast on the go! I follow them on FB

  15. 15 RL McGruder November 22, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    I’ve followed, followed, liked and tweeted (!), and I’m newly obsessed with Chobani, esp. the pomegranate flavor. Yum! I am thankful for this time to slow down and reflect and enjoy all of my family!


  1. 1 On a Monday I am waiting « Marathon Winer Trackback on November 21, 2011 at 11:14 am
  2. 2 Now What? « Marathon Winer Trackback on November 22, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

