How to Prepare for a Marathon

1. Get advice from the greats:

dear bart yasso, you answering my tweet made my tum go atwitter. i should be a poet.

When a man like Bart Yasso’s final pre-marathon words to you are “guaranteed PR,” it definitely help the excitement level INCREASE and the nervousness decrease.

Of course he’s not guaranteeing a PR because I’m the fastest person in the world and I fly around race courses rather than run. He can bet money I will PR because it is in fact, only my first marathon. Details, people, details…

2. Sign up for another race.

Sound silly the day BEFORE your marathon? A little bit. But when the National Marathon posts big discounts in celebration of 11/11/11, one must take advantage. Coincidentally, signing up for a half marathon (yes, I’m not that crazy, I avoided clicking “register” for the full, though I DID think about it and there’s a good chance that come Saturday afternoon I will regret it), helped take my mind off the 26.2 miles I need to run tomorrow.

…for all of three seconds. Again, details.

3. Shower your  niece with noisemakers picked up at last week’s ING NYC marathon and teach her how to parade around the house and run around the yard screaming encouraging running mantras. It helps. It really does.

4. Go for an easy run and enjoy it.

I ran a VERY easy two miles around my parents neighborhood this morning. It was brisk, but nice. And I focused 100% on enjoying myself. And the color of the awesome Virginia fall foliage:

hello elementary school. you're so pretty framed by fall colors.

I just enjoyed running. No need or no room for any other thoughts. Like running a marathon and wanting desperately hard not to disappoint myself  and my not-so-secret time goals.

5. Attend the expo. And go a little nuts.

I love expos. You may remember I attended the NYC marathon expo even though I wasn’t running it. So now my 8k running sista Squigs, my half marathon running friend who is trekking down from Maryland and myself are all off to the expo in search of even more noisemakers, fueling freebies and lots of fun running goodies that I will love and my wallet will hate.

Happy happy Friday kids!

Hopefully the next time you hear from me….I’ll hopefully…BE A MARATHONER. eeks!

If you’ve got any interest at all in seeing whether or not I survive, you can track me here: http://richmondmarathon.org/spectators/runner-tracking.htm

Bib #2565

And just as a heads up…this tracking system may come across as a bit antiquated if you are used to fancier runner apps…::cough cough:: ING NYC…

5 Responses to “How to Prepare for a Marathon”


  1. 1 Jenina November 11, 2011 at 10:40 am

    That’s awesome! Thinking about how one day I’ll be in your shoes is super exciting. Congrats, you’ll be great!

  2. 2 Katherine @ Neon Blonde Runner November 11, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    AAACK we’re both doing Richmond as our first marathon!!

    I can not wait to do this.

    Hopefully I’ll see you out there….I’ll be in a neon orange top.

    I actually live in RIchmond (just moved here 4 years ago) so this is my hometown race I suppose.

    Best of luck to you!!

  3. 3 Katie November 11, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Good luck this weekend and don’t forget to HAVE FUN! 🙂

  4. 4 Laura November 11, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    National is super fun – I’ve paced it the last two years and had a blast.

    Good luck tomorrow!!! I am really jealous of everyone running the full instead of the half… will be thinking of you 🙂


  1. 1 Confessions of a Marathonwiner « Marathon Winer Trackback on December 28, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

