Go time!

Happy Thursday kids! And a happy one it is…in just a few hours (well, a few more than a few), I’ll be en route to Richmond for Marathon Weekend!

Holy crap, how is race weekend here already? It seems like I just ran my first half marathon Philly. And I just started stalking the lottery for the ING NYC Marathon. It was only yesterday that I religiously watched as they unveiled the lottery winners on the NYRR live stream, right? Of course, only to learn that I had NOT been chosen. But the marathon bug had bit. And it was only moments later that I signed up for the Suntrust Richmond Marathon…that seemed so very far away.

But it is upon us! Yesterday at work I 100% could NOT focus on anything other than marathon thoughts. If I wasn’t in meetings and needing to contribute words, I was hovering on the race web site willing some sort of update that would make my nerves disappear. Not sure what that update possibly could have been–oh, buses ARE allowed for the last 10k in this race? sign me up! oh, a marathon was recently redefined as a mere 21.5 miles? piece of cake! But alas, no changes. And that’s okay. If it wasn’t so very nerve wracking, sleep stealing, stomach churning and flat-out terrifying, everyone would run marathons…right?

I bet you’re well beyond sick of hearing me whine about how “race day is here” and “I’m so nervous.” I wish I could say I had something else to talk about, but like I said, I’ve got a one-track mind right now. Sorry kids, but just bear with me for a few more days.

Last night after leftovers of pumpkin mac n’ cheese (umm Christine, not sure if you saw my comment to you, but this dinner was a freakin HIT–amazing!), I deliberated for far too long on packing my marathon bag. And I’m still not sure I have everything, but I do have two pairs of sneaks, two pairs of shorts, compression socks, regular socks, two long sleeve tech tees and my marathonwiner shirt, courtesy of the JD. I’ve also got GU, sportsbeans, Gatorade chews and other fuel galore…which as I learned in my 21.5 miler, is really just a big waste of valuable luggage real estate. Oh, well. Better safe than sorry.

And the two most important pieces of all–my very nerdy white visor and my participant information packet, which will get me into the expo on Friday for packet pick up! Wootwoot!

The expo may be one of my favorite parts of any major race. My friend is driving in from Maryland to run the half (yay!) so we are meeting at the expo, then posting up for a night of relaxation and carbs with the fam. I’ll keep all of my attention focused on that fun stuff for the next few hours of work, and hopefully stop reading marathon recaps and other race related web pages until my eyes bug out…Oh and p.s. I SLEPT IN TODAY AND DIDNT RUN. Total rest day. Who whoulda thunk it? 🙂

Have a great day guys!

Hey runner friends–quick question…I’m signed up to do a bus tour of the marathon course Friday afternoon. Do you think it’s a good idea? Or would I be just as good being surprised come race day? My friend can’t make the tour so I’m not sure if I want to bother…

Any last-minute tips? Feel free to share 🙂

7 Responses to “Go time!”


  1. 1 Laura November 10, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    I’m running the half in Richmond on Saturday, and really psyched – the weather is going to be INCREDIBLE and perfect!!!

    I’d say don’t do the course preview. Marathons are a long distance to run anyway, and it’s more enjoyable when you’re seeing new scenery so you have something to pass the time. Instead, just check out the course map and elevation profile – that way you’ll know where to expect to push it and where to ease up.

  2. 2 krissy m. murphy November 10, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I wanted to the do the bus tour but I won’t get in on time….I think it’d be fun.

  3. 3 marathon winer November 10, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    thanks ladies!! laura–i do love the element of surprise…helps with the mental battle atleast…
    krissy-where are you coming in from??

  4. 4 Shannon [Tropical Eats] November 10, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    bet the course is going to be gorgeous there in the Fall.

    im sooo excited for you !!!

  5. 5 thethinksicanthink November 10, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    trust in your training and have fun!

  6. 6 marathon winer November 11, 2011 at 8:20 am

    thanks girls!!!! so excited!!!


  1. 1 Only Crazy People Run Marathons « Marathon Winer Trackback on November 17, 2011 at 8:29 am

Leave a Reply

