Autumn in New York

I never actually saw that movie…was it any good?

Since moving here I have an even stronger desire to see every single movie that strongly features this awesome city. I’m a giant nerd and stumbled upon this clip posted by CentralParkBuzz this morning:

I had been dreading the idea of a run today. My legs are a bit achy–I think I’m finally feeling Friday’s big run (guess I’m not as baller as I thought) and I have a laundry list of things to accomplish before a second interview this afternoon. One of those things happens to be laundry. Which is probably by far, my absolute least favorite thing in the world to do. I’d rather wash dishes for two hours straight. I’m serious. I don’t know why, but I really really hate laundry.

Anywho. As I was saying, I was toying with the idea of skipping a run today, when I stumbled upon the video above. It’s a little cheesy, but it’s a lot awesome.

I love Central Park.

I tell people all the time, if it weren’t for living in this city and having that glorious park to rack up mileage in, I don’t think I ever a. would have wanted to run a marathon or b. would have been able to properly train for it. Or at least not nearly as easily. How many people have so many perfect running paths just dropped into their back yard? On any given day I can walk out my front door and turn right towards the hilly park, left to the nice, flat banks of the Hudson River, or if it’s too dark to feel comfortable on paths, I can just take to the brightly lit sidewalks of Broadway.

New York is awesome. And it’s an extra special kind of awesome when the sun is out and there’s the crisp, cool air of fall. Autumn in New York is what is motivating me to get my running shoes on today.

hello pretty bridle path. i love you lack of pavement. and how nice you are to my knees.

My goal is to do my usual 6.5ish miles along the Bridle Path and reservoir OR be brave and try to tackle an 8-mile run that consists mostly of the paved outer loop. We’ll see what I’m up for.

And autumn in New York likely will continue to motivate me from now until I board a plane for Richmond in a little less than three weeks.

I’m all over the place trying to decide when to get certain runs in this week between work and heading out of town for a very special weddddding on Thursday, a wedding that will leave me pretty wrapped up in festivities all weekend (read: with very little, if any, time for long running, or running at all).

Thanks for giving me the chance for a little gush on Central Park/New York lovin’. And in case the above video clip was a little too mushy gushy for your liking, here’s some other NY entertainment for your viewing pleasure: http://halloweenorwilliamsburg.tumblr.com/

Have a very happy Tuesday kids!!

 

– What is your favorite place to run in NY? I know there’s still so many I have to discover!

– What is your favorite season, and in what city/state? I am loving how gorgeous NY is in the fall, but don’t get me wrong–summer sun is still my absolute favorite!

4 Responses to “Autumn in New York”


  1. 1 sweatpassionandtears October 25, 2011 at 10:40 am

    That’s funny, I LOATHE doing laundry too, but dishes don’t really bother me — not sure what it is about laundry, maybe the lugging a big weight and then having to wait 45min between washer/dry? I am impatient…dishes are instant! haha

    Good luck on your run today, I have a feeling once you get out there you’ll feel a lot better, it’s a gorgeous running day!

    I love running along the West side around the 70’s, it’s so pretty (umm and flat). I love central park too, but the hills are daunting when my legs are tired.

    I think my favorite season is one that doesn’t exist — around 70 degrees and sunny — where’d that season go??

  2. 2 runningseal October 25, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    My favorite are spring and fall. I love fall in New England. Nothing prettier.

  3. 3 thethinksicanthink October 25, 2011 at 8:57 pm

    Hmm – I love running around the reservoir for the views and always love the West Side Highway.

    Love fall at home as the foilage looks like an LL Bean Catalog.


  1. 1 Holy Wow « Marathon Winer Trackback on October 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

Leave a Reply

