Peak of the Peak

It felt great to get out of work yesterday–as the rain was STILL coming down–and know that my run was well behind me (thanks Katherine!). Unfortunately I finished up at a normal hour (5:00), while the poor JD still had quite a few hours of legal hodgepodge ahead of him. Since it was the only night this week that both of us were home/free (read: me not gallivanting around DC/working crazy late), we had a dinner date…reservations at Giorgio’s at the lovely hour of 9 p.m. But with a significant amount of time to kill, I found myself at the gym anyway! I ofcourse avoided the treadmill since I met my mileage for the day, and instead focused on some ellipticalling and weight training.Three trips to the gym in one week? That hasn’t happened in a while, but I’m glad it did!

Needless to say though, my legs are tired today. And I very much want to knock out my 20 mile run tomorrow, and get it out of the way before a weekend full of visitors (the JDs sisters and my half marathon buddy, to name a few 🙂 ). So I’m hoping to try to take things easy today. If it was raining like it was yesterday, that’d be a cinch, because I’d make friends with the couch and Netflix. But as it turns out, its gorgeous outside. And we all know that if the sun is out, than I’ve got to be out too! So now I’m trying to come up with a game plan for what to do in the city today–recommendations welcome!

I’m also welcoming recommends for WHERE to knock out these 20 miles tomorrow. I know Central Park is always an easy option for mapping mileage, as is running the perimeter of the island, but I also think switching up a route will also mentally help me get through the task, so if anyone has any suggestions, bring em on!

The 20 miler will be my longest run of training to date, and last long run before the big race. When I first started training I gave myself a lot of grief for choosing Hal’s easiest plan, and one that included just one 20 mile run (vs 2 20’s or a 20 and a 22). But in the last couple of weeks I’ve finally come to terms with this training plan. With weddings galore on the calendar this summer and fall, and lots of other trips to visit family and friends, I don’t know how I could have possibly followed a different schedule. And with my goal in Richmond being to just cross the finish line, I feel like I’ve trained well to accomplish what I’m setting out to do. So I’m going into this peak training run feeling pretty pumped about my progress and looking forward to a few weeks of taper time–though I hear the crazies set in in those three weeks…

Something else I’m looking forward to? Wearing my lovely new shirt on race day, courtesy of the JD:

front of the technical shirt

annnnd back. check out the JDs art/marketing skills--look at the blog/twitter plug!

Note to friends/blog readers/both: I just got back from gallivanting around the city all day to see that the entire rest of the post I had written this morning was never published. What the hey WordPress?! Anywho, my apologies for it cutting off where it did. I actually wrote a LOT more about my awesome t-shirt, the awesome JD who gave me the t-shirt because work won’t allow him to escape to Richmond for the actual marathon, and a whole lot of other stuff that I now don’t remember and can’t try to remember because it’s time to go to work. Again, what the HEY WordPress? This is one angry marathonwiner, signnnning off!

Happy Thursday kids!

3 Responses to “Peak of the Peak”


  1. 1 sweatpassionandtears October 20, 2011 at 11:07 am

    3 days at the gym, that’s impressive! Ever since I started running I hate going to the gym and being cooped up inside (this may change in winter haha).

    Have you been to Prospect Park in Brooklyn? I never have, but I hear that’s a pretty place to run. Kind of far to get to, but maybe worth it for a change of scenery. Also, you could run up the West Side and over the George Washington Bridge. Good luck!!!

  2. 2 runningismagical October 20, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    Good luck on your 20 miles! Have an extra glass of wine after 🙂

  3. 3 thethinksicanthink October 20, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    I did a run where I went over the Manhattan Bridge then through Bklyn some and then back over the Bklyn Bridge in to Manhattan – I liked that for a long run!


Leave a Reply

