Time Flies

Seriously. First I didn’t know what had happened to summer. September flew by in the blink of an eye. And October seems to be moving at warp speed. Especially this past week.

When I woke up at the very late hour of 9:30 this morning (I FINALLY had an awesome night sleep and could not even think about getting out of bed any earlier), I literally felt like I had just done my 18-mile long run yesterday. So how was it possible that it was already time for another long one? Granted, this one was much shorter at 14 miles (ha, had I told you a few years ago that there’d EVER be a time in my life where I considered 14 miles a “shorter” run, I would have been slapping my knee and spitting milk out my nose), I still just wanted to spend the day curled up under my covers. But with a wedding in DC tomorrow, and finally reuniting with old roomies and friends (and Cactus Cantina!!) on Sunday, this run needed to happen today.

I should have learned my lesson a few weeks ago and remembered that I do NOT, repeat–do NOT–do well on long runs started mid-afternoon and after a few cups of coffee. I know some runners refuse to leave the house without their caffeine fix (dear Krista, if you’re reading this I just had a flashback to you frantically searching the streets of Philly before our half last November), but I definitely am a runner that needs to hold off on the cup of joe til post run.

Today I decided to do the reverse of last week’s run (that, by the way, I finished still feeling like I could tack on some extra miles!), which meant cutting across the park to the east side, down first ave onto the east river esplanade, around the lower tip of Manhattan and back up the prettier west side. Usually I find my groove after around 3-4 miles and can settle into a nice, carefree pace for a good chunk of time. But today, I just wasnt finding my niche. By the time I traveled under the Williamsburg Bridge (which in my wishful thinking frame of mind thought was the Manhattan Bridge), I wanted to give up. I slowed to a walk and grabbed some GU, and it was taking a while to get my feet moving again. Right when my confidence was really starting to wan, I saw a badass runner approaching and started to think, “man, she’s pumping through a nice run and doesn’t even have a pocket for GU, I should be that strong!”

Then she got a little closer and the thought shifted to, “man she looks familiar…”

As we awkwardly were stealing glances at each other but pretending not to, something clicked and she yelled, “Katie? KATIE!”

OMG it was my cousin Melissa (the very same one I shared some blueberry pie with just two nights ago) out for a run with a coworker on their lunch break. I LOVE New York for this very reason–if there’s someone you know living in this gigantic city, you’re going to bump into them. We exchanged about 4 very sweaty hugs, gave each other the rundown on our routes and then kept on–she heading north up the east river and me on my way to the Brooklyn Bridge.

By some magical mix of gu and excitement over seeing my cousin, I got a second wind and took off for lower Manhattan with some more steam, which carried me up through Battery Park and along the lower west side of the island. When I knew I only had about a mile or two left in the run I started to get really, really tired. I wanted to quit but knew that if I wanted to quit at mile 8 and had made it almost near the end, I was going to finish no matter what.

Unfortunately, when I planned out my run using MapMyRun before heading out this morning, it said that my 14 miles would finish up right in front of the NYC Sanitation Department. Not the most glamorous finish line, but I’ll take what I can get.

[*Note: when I got home and re-mapped what I believe to have been my route it came up at 13.89. Wtf!? How did that happen? Le sigh, 13, 14, they are the same right? A long run is a long run, I know. I just wish I could convince myself of that…Instead I’ll convince myself its a good thing I got any miles done, as the rain is really starting to come down again here…]

Afterwards I walked off the run by walking up to Penn Station to catch the express train home. And here I am, with my day nearly shot. In the next two hours I’ve got to shower and pack for the weekend before heading out to another very late (and it appears rainy) night at work, before waking up for an 8 a.m. bus down to DC. Where did the week go? Where did the day go? Time really is just FLYING right now!

– Do you ever run into friends and family in the most random places?? This was only my second time EVER on the east side, and I saw my cousin!…oh–and I FINALLY saw those seals!!!!

– I’m totes considering getting a run in while I’m back in DC…for old time’s sake 🙂 If you’re there and wanna run, let me know!

– What do you have on the agenda for this weekend?

3 Responses to “Time Flies”


  1. 1 thethinksicanthink October 14, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    I guess you mean the seals in East River Park near the last set of ball fields? Those are adorable!

    Anyways, 13.89 is definitely 14. My RC often gives me ranges for long runs ie 14-16 or 16-18. I aim for somewhere in there and wherever it ends up, it ends up. Its really helped me not get too freaked out like used to over things being exactly this or that mileage. I’d def count your long run a success! It was humid out there today, too.

  2. 2 marathon winer October 17, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Thank you sooo much! That makes me feel much better 🙂


  1. 1 I’m Back Baby! « Marathon Winer Trackback on October 17, 2011 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

