I HAVE been known to take the bus a lot…

Before I moved to NY, I was constantly on a bolt bus or mega bus bumping up the NJ turnpike to the Big Apple, or heading south to visit my fam in Richmond. The bus is one of my primary modes of transportation. So why shouldn’t I too, incorporate it into my marathon training? At least I wouldn’t be silly enough to use it to help me come in third place, just get to the finish line!

My RB (seriously. Brooklyn can’t be THAT cool. Come back and run with me) sent me this link last night, and I immediately felt compelled to share it with the blogging community and got it all queued up for today’s post. Then tons of other people sent it to me in various forms and Hoda and KLG even mentioned the story on their segment of the Today show this morning. So you’ve probably read it by now, but I’m going to share anyway.

Hopefully by doing so I’ll be less likely to try to repeat Mr. Sloan’s tactics come Nov. 12, as this is proof that the bus will NOT be a viable option come marathon day:

http://espn.go.com/olympics/trackandfield/story/_/id/7091815/rob-sloan-disqualified-taking-bus-kielder-marathon

Bahaha.

Moving on.

The cold that is trying to penetrate my marathon training was at it full force yesterday. But I trucked through a full day of work anyway, fueled by lots of Campbell’s and hot tea. Afterwards I dragged my butt to my gym, which had been begging for my return for a little over a week. It was tough getting there, but once I arrived I was so glad I went. The cross training was a nice change of pace, and the wee little burn from the wee little weight that I lifted felt good.

Afterwards I met my cousin for a late dinner at good ol’ Tom’s Restaurant. You probably know it better from its many cameo’s in Seinfeld:

you can almost seee jerry through the window!

I had only been to Tom’s previously for breakfast (can’t go wrong doing omelette’s at a 70-something year old diner), but was pleased to find out it was equally yummy–and cheap–for dinner as well. My cousin and I each started with a small cup of soup, gyro’s as the main course and shared an AMAZING piece of blueberry pie to polish it all off! I went to bed happy, but that didn’t last long.

With the long days I’ve been having and my ongoing battle with the sniffles, I’ve been feeling incredibly tired. Yet last night, for the second night in a row, could not sleeeep to save my life. Not cool. Not cool at all.

My plan to repeat last Thursday’s routine of an early morning run, followed by a trip to the yoga studio and a little extra free time before work did not pan out too well as a result. I finally finished up some coffee and headed for Central Park by about 11:30 this morning where I knocked out 10 miles. This was good since I’d been wanting to pack in some mileage before heading to DC for a weekend full of wedding fun, but may have been bad since Hal’s got me down for an additional 14 tomorrow. We’ll see how that goes.

Anywho, I’m off to stretch, spend some quality time with HP and then head off for what is likely to be another late night of working 🙂

Happy Thursday kids, hope you’re staying dry!

 

– Any other NYC diners or eateries you recommend?

– Any outrageous reaction to the “marathoner” who hopped the bus? I just think its funny. He only really cheated himself. Tired as I may be come race day, I don’t think there’s anyway I could throw away all of these weeks of training by catching a ride for the last 6 miles!

2 Responses to “I HAVE been known to take the bus a lot…”


  1. 1 thethinksicanthink October 13, 2011 at 6:11 pm

    We’ve all been in pain at mile 20 – but who wants to hop a bus and fake a marathon time? Isn’t the satisfaction come from knowning you completed the thing.

    I actually know someone who my friends and I have speculated cheated at the Philly marathon in 2010. 1st half 2:03 and she finished in 3:31? Hmmm…not likely. What’s even more unfair is that she’s going to Boston this year.


  1. 1 Time Flies « Marathon Winer Trackback on October 14, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

