Topsy Turvy

These freaky weather changes are doing a doozy on my immune system. As much as I loved the August-like weather we saw over the weekend and even through today, having it after a week of chilling rain left me with a sniffle–definitely NOT something I want to deal with as marathon training hits its peak.

Yesterday delays on the LIRR railroad thwarted my plans to swing by the gym on my way back into the city. Instead, I ran an easy 4.5 miles around Farmingdale last night and stayed over at my aunt’s house again. This morning I was up bright and early due to having a train (and later hair appt) to catch, but certainly was not feeling bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. A weekend jam-packed with late nights of working and having fun and long days of running and exploring the city and Long Island left me completely wiped. After my hair appt (another deal I scored, though this time on the sidewalk in Union Sq. rather than on a social couponing site) I headed straight for home with every intention of taking 532243 doses of Echinacea and a nice long nap. I popped some pills but as has been the case since I left my college days behind, I was 100% unable to nap off the cold I fear is approaching.

Instead, I hit Central Park for an easy 8 miles or so, and ended the run at Westside Market where I stocked up on tea and soup–two staples that I plan to curl up with just as soon as I catch a hot shower.

I’ve got a lot I want to accomplish tomorrow, so here’s hoping the Westside purchases and an early bedtime tonight do the trick!

Since I’m near-sick and therefore slightly whiny, and can’t remember half of the more running-related things I had anticipated writing about, I thought I’d compile a short list of things I’ve overheard in NY today that I would have preferred to hear, because they make me more than a little angry. Drumroll, please…

– A man on the subway telling his bratty, nasty, screaming-in-a-fit-of-unnecessary-rage child, “ok, ok, whatever you want you’re the boss, calm down sweetie” while his older, nicer child calmly asks, “daddy, did henry just kick you?” Sweetie knows he’s the boss. And it makes me nervous for the future of our country.

– A pedicab driver telling his passengers that he loves, loves, LOVES his job because when it’s hot out, the great lawn is covered in bikini-clad women. First of all, one of the passengers was a woman herself, whom I hoping scoffed. Second of all, THAT’S why you love your job? And here I thought it may have something to do with your love of fitness, the city, its history, etc…but no, hot city ladies donning triangle tops.

– I forget the third one, and it’s probably better off that way. I shall leave the angry running commentary to the real pro 🙂 and hopefully be back to my cheerful, iloveny, nonsniffling self tomorrow!

Have a lovely Tuesday!

2 Responses to “Topsy Turvy”


  1. 1 sweatpassionandtears October 11, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Ugh I feel like everyone’s getting sick around now. My chronic-winter runny nose has already partially started and doesn’t end until summertime haha. Hopefully some rest will make you feel better!

    Did you like the place you got a hair cut? I have yet to find a reasonable place I like in NY. If you’re into deal sites, you should check out savingsbird.com — if you have gmail they can aggregate your emails into one, or you can unsubscribe to all those pesty emails and just chose which deals you want them to aggregate for you!

  2. 2 marathon winer October 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    ooo thanks for the heads up! i might have to do that to decrease the number of emails haha. the hair place was just okay…im still trying to find somewhere i love here in the city too! im going to email you with another potential plan for this week!


Leave a Reply

