A Swift Kick in the Toosh

Nothing like some brisk fall weather to kick you back into high gear! Well, that and a day off I guess. Yesterday turned into an apparently much-needed “rest day,” in which I ended up working in one way or another until after 11 p.m. Not what I was expecting, so certainly not cool. Especially because it meant that there was noooo way I could drag my butt out of bed at 6 a.m. and make the 40 minute commute toward Katherine for the launch of my first-ever east river run. Blurg. But we’re working on figuring that out–details to come (likely AFTER a successful meetup so I don’t have to post more than one fail on my end).

With a late bedtime and an overall sluggishness taking over this week, there was a very good chance of me sleeping in and foregoing any sort of running/training/anything today. Luckily, the JD has a much stronger drive than me. We agreed last night to get each other out the door for a pre-work (well, at least on his end) run this morning. When the alarm went off, I started to hit snooze, but heard him getting into running gear and dragged myself up and into my Asics.

Unfortunately, we had to split about a mile into the run, as I was heading toward the bridle path and the JD back home to get ready for the day. But I had, for the first time in weeks (at least without the push of a race on the calendar) gotten myself up at my old time, and it felt good. Really good. I even (shock of all shocks) enjoyed the chillier fall weather (granted, I’m pretty sure it was about 498720 colder 3 days ago when I slept in long past 7:30 a.m.)! I spent so much of this mornings’ miles getting excited about pumpkin spice latte’s, the upcoming wedding of one of my very best friends, Halloween, my nieces birthday and the most anticipated day/weekend/week of the entire year: Thanksgiving, that the time just flew by!

*Note: I’m aware the impending marathon did not make mention in that list. It tried to creep into my happy thoughts a few times, but it didn’t keep them happy, so I had to push it aside: “zomg Anne’s wedding is right around the corner! and the marathon is two weeks after that! have fun tapering at a wedding sucka!” “yay I can’t wait for Thanksgiving! why? it’s not like you’ll be able to walk, having just attempted a marathon. keyword: attempted.” GO AWAY SCARY THOUGHTS!

Any who, the best park of knocking a run out early? I now have hours of time to go be productive before having to be back at work. Woohoo!

I reallllly want to get myself back into the habit of the early a.m. run. That shouldn’t be a problem tomorrow, since with 18 on the schedule I’ll need to get up with the sun in order to knock out a run before work. Let’s just hope I can carry the old routine over the weekend and into next week!

Have a very Happy Thursday!!

 

– I’m really NOT trying to do 3 loops of Central Park [read: Harlem Hills] tomorrow. Any ideas/recommends for a new 18-mile route?

– My little sis is going to be in the city this weekend! Anyone know of anything noteworthy going on?

2 Responses to “A Swift Kick in the Toosh”


  1. 1 sweatpassionandtears October 6, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Yes I have a route idea! I emailed it to you hahaha

    I didn’t realize you wanted to run early tomorrow, so let me know the best time for you to head out, hopefully we can catch each other this time 🙂

  2. 2 thethinksicanthink October 7, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Go around the tip of Manhattan – that with some central park should somehow lead to 18 miles! That way you see ALL the NYC sites. I love running and seeing all the bridges….which reminds me, you could also do a bridges run!


Leave a Reply

