on NOT running…

So I spent a large chunk of this morning tossing and turning in bed debating whether I wanted to scoot out for a 4 mile run (which would likely turn into a 6 mile run) or really take a day off (and even then, I’ve got about a 12 hour work day ahead of me,most of which will be on my feet…). I did a bit of math and figured that between Monday’s 7, Tuesday’s 11 and plenty more pavement days to go, I’d hit Hal’s minimally required number for the week no matter what, and realized the only thing that was really at risk for suffering a blow this week was my usual crosstraining routine and/or some yoga (and when has THAT ever been a problem for me to skip?)

And so here I am, an hour before work, still in my PJs sipping on coffee, as always with the Today Show on–shout out to Al Roker for his “I am a Runner” feature in this month’s Runner’s World…LOVE that man! Oh, and his interview told me he does a lot of his runs on along the riverside paths that I so often travel. Guess who’s going to have stalker goggles on until he is spotted??

The funny thing is…my legs are actually a little achy as I sit here. This tells me two things. One, the woman with the magic hands who yelled at me for not treating my body well on Monday was right–I certainly don’t stretch enough. Two, it’s a good thing I didn’t run this morning. If my legs are achy after a night of posting up, than what would they feel like had I powered through some miles this morning? With a short run on the schedule for tomorrow (with Katherine, who is finallllly going to show me the east river running routes, woohoo!) and 18 lined up for Friday, I think the legs are super grateful for a little lag time. I’d love love loooove to even let those 18 wait until Sat or Sun, but my mom and Squigs are going to be in NY for the weekend, so I need to free up my schedule for quality time with them 🙂

Since this post is supposed to be about NOT running. Let’s end that topic for a hot sec and move on to this exciting one…yesterday, I booked a flight back to the DR!!! Somehow, the Dominican Republic has come to be one of my (and my family’s) favorite vacay spots. After a summer of seeing very little (if any) beach, I’m escaping with the fam smack dab in the middle of December for a getaway to a gorgeous house in Punta Cana. One plus side of funemployment? Don’t need to worry about taking time off for such excursions!

Have a happy hump day kids!

 

– Have you had any run-ins (pun intended, bahaha) with fame while out on a run (or otherwise in NYC)?

– Do you do any winter getaways? This may be my first time hitting up somewhere hot and sunny in the middle of the cold weather months (well, unless you count Ragnar Florida Keys last year, but the water was still far too cold for swimming…)

 

3 Responses to “on NOT running…”


  1. 1 runningismagical October 5, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    It’s hot and sunny here most of the year, so my family usually stays put during the winter time. I’ve never seen a celebrity getting their workout on, but they do frequent fancy restaurants often in the LA area!

  2. 2 sweatpassionandtears October 5, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Yey excited for our run tomorrow! I think it’s good to take days off to rest.

    I ran past Julia Stiles once along the East River a couple of summers ago, but that’s my only star sighting!

    The BF and I are planning on going to the Caribbean in January or February because I will DEFINITELY need a break from the cold by then. It’s already cold! I’ll be all bundled up for our run 🙂


Leave a Reply

