Pushing Through

Somehow, I’m more tired today than I was in the days following the 18 mile run through Central Park’s hills.

Granted, I had a hard race on Saturday–and by hard, I mean I ran it hard, with a lot more effort than I’ve put into a race in a long time. But still, I’d like to feel a little more peppy going into this weekend’s next 18 miler (yes, another. aka, the one actually on Hal’s schedule). And you’d think I would, given the fact that I got my first-ever massage yesterday! It was pretty awesome, though not nearly as painful or scary as I imagined. I think this is not because massages are not painful or scary but because my super friendly masseuse may have been more interested in our lovely convo than tearing through the knots in my back and legs (though she did spend a lot of time chiding me for not doing a better job stretching: “you’re not TRYING to train for a marathon. you are training for one. so stop “TRYING’ to be better about stretching and just be better. you need to take care of your body.” Noted, very smart and slightly intimidating woman with wonder hands).

I got out of the hour-long rubdown around 11 in the middle of Manhattan, and decided to wander. I ended up getting a little lost in the village before finally making my way to The Strand–a NYC hotspot I’ve been dyyying to check out. It did not disappoint. In fact, I spent WAY too much time mingling amongst the many floors of wonderful books and didn’t get home until nearly 4. Oops.

So I quickly laced up and headed out to the park, determined to log a few miles before the rains came. I managed to squeeze in a little more than 7 along the Bridle path, and only got sprinkled on in the last mile-half mile of the jog home. Success.

Then the JD notified me that he was once again going to be caught in the office and our movie date plans would have to be postponed. I was disappointed, but took advantage of the time to get some much-needed laundry done. Laundromats in the rain though? No bueno. Certainly, no fun.

This morning I was super slow getting out of bed (I figured with the super early runs I have scheduled tomorrow and Friday, I could allow myself to laze a bit today) before finally heading out for a 10 mile run. That was actually 11 very slow and not-so-fun miles.

Now I’m off to work for a few, and hoping to squeeze in yoga, or at the very least some at home stretch sessions later on this evening!

Happy Tuesday 🙂

 

– Any good running specific stretches you can recommend? Magic hands lady suggested ones that really exercised the back…

– I hope I’m not hitting a wall with the tiredness right now. Suggestions on how to blast myself out of the drag??

3 Responses to “Pushing Through”


  1. 1 Kelly October 4, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    oooh a massage sounds amazing, plus wandering around the village and books = perfect afternoon! I really like pigeon pose for stretching, as well as some other hamstring, hip and quad stuff.

  2. 2 thethinksicanthink October 4, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    I basically like my foam roller and achilles stretches. I am not good about stretching!

    I have been tired, too. Maybe it was my crazy weekend. Maybe its because its getting dark at 7 (boooooo!!!) I’ve been using a lot of caffeine.


  1. 1 on NOT running… « Marathon Winer Trackback on October 5, 2011 at 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

