It Smells Like Thanksgiving

….in my apartment at least. I got my Izzie on last night and baked a big whopping batch of Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies, courtesy of a recipe Kelly posted a few days ago. I guess since it’s almost October (what?! how did that happen) it’s okay that I’m finally inviting the fall into my home. And the aroma of fresh-baked pumpkin last night got me super pumped for Turkey Day in Richmond [read: the greatest/most anticipated time of the entire year].

I should go ahead and throw a giant thank-you to Kelly for the recipe, as the cookies are absolutely delish. But they are so delish that I can’t stop eating them. And I imagine training will only get harder as I lug around 434 extra pounds of pumpkin/chocolatey weight. My tum thanks you, Kelly, but my legs may feel differently.

The cookies proved to be decent fuel for an early morning run though! I met an old RB down near the river around 8 today (you may remember that my main RB moved to Brooklyn, and its been tough scheduling miles together since). This RB just returned from a summer of volunteer work in Africa. Where she taught adorable little kids and even climbed Kilimanjaro. And she was so busy out saving the world and climbing mountains that she had little time to keep up with her training for the ING NYC Marathon. Yet since she’s been back she’s already surpassed me in long-run mileage. Needless to say, she’s a badass in many, many ways. And she’s an angel for putting up with my slugness when we run together 🙂

We spent the morning sort of just looping up and down Riverside Dr. along the Hudson and playing catch-up…aka, I grilled her about Africa for the first half of the run then spent the second half picking her brain on thoughts surrounding grad school and different grad school programs. For those of you who don’t know (which is probably all of you), I’ve been toying with the idea of grad school for a looooong time now. But I’m more indecisive than a hungry fly at a picnic and cannot for the life of me decide what I want to go back for (granted, I have three general “areas” but they are all so different and far out of the others realms that in shouldnt even count to say I’ve narrowed it down that far), much less…where. And it seems there are just far too many options for a fickle-minded girl such as myself. (This is the point where all of you grad-school goers or grads shower me with wisdom and advice)

Anywho, as always, part of our convo also circled around running and where we are in our training. This RB is on marathon like 89 (ok, it may be closer to 10, but goodness, that’s still an insane amount of running), so I’m thrilled that she’s back and can answer all of my annoying omgimsoscaredofmyfirstmarathon questions. She seemed to agree with my decision to keep the run short today and possibly even take a full rest day tomorrow to ensure the success I want at Grete’s. So I wrapped things up after a little over 5 today, and hopefully will heed both her advice and my own hunch regarding tomorrows routine. (Thanks for all the tips, my 26.2 guru!)

Hopefully I can find other ways to be productive between now and my afternoon shift at NYRR. If you’re running this weekend, come get your bib and say hello!

Happy Thursday. And apparently Happy Coffee Day? The Twitterworld is telling me it’s National Coffee Day. Now that’s a holiday I can celebrate!  🙂

-You saw this one coming….if you have ANY experience in grad school…pass on what you know! How do you decide what program is best for you? How do you begin the process? HELP!

– What’s your all-time favorite time of year/holiday? Thanksgiving blows the rest of the year out of the water for me.

6 Responses to “It Smells Like Thanksgiving”


  1. 1 Kelly September 29, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Haha best cookies ever! I brought a giant zip lock bag to work to get rid of some because, yes, I just sit there eating them. I love that they stay super soft and almost cake like. Also, I have totally used them for running fuel on more than one occasion.

  2. 2 Katherine September 29, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    oooh what do you want to go back to grad school for? What do you do now? I haven’t gone to grad school, but my advice would be study whatever intrigues you soo much that you’re happy doing it 8 hours a day (maybe obvious advice haha)

    Christmas is my favorite holiday! I love the smell of ginger and cinnamon that go with it too! And christmas cookies, yuuum

    Let me know if you want to run the east river one morning next week!

  3. 3 marathon winer September 29, 2011 at 11:14 pm

    katherine…im DYING to run the east river! i’m at marathonwiner@gmail.com! lets talk!

  4. 4 Kristen September 29, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Well, I am applying to an English Writing and Rhetoric grad program. I think I might be nuts:) Did you look into any teaching openings (maybe private) for second semester? I swear, somebody is always pregnant and they need someone to fill in, ha.

    Enjoy your blog as always. See you at the end of October for the nuptials.

  5. 5 Tracy September 30, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Do NOT do a Ph.D. in any of the humanities. I can’t warn you away from it enough!


  1. 1 NYRR Love « Marathon Winer Trackback on September 30, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Leave a Reply

