Officially Addicted.

Okay, so some of you are probably screaming, “you signed up for a freaking marathon, we GET that you have a weird and insane addiction to running.” And you’re right. But today yesterday I discovered just how strong that addiction was.

After showing the Harlem Hills who was boss and conquering 18 miles on Sunday, I very, very quickly forgot about parts of the three monotonous CP loops that were sheer torture…and all I could remember was the runner’s high that carried me through them. And the awesome feeling I was overcome with all day when I thought to myself, “holy crap. I did that.”

I woke up yesterday morning with legs that were a little achy, and no guilt over the fact that I just might not make it to the gym or yoga or anything that required me leaving the comfort of my couch. But let’s get serious. I’m not the kind of person who can hunker down watching the Price is Right* when there is a beautiful city outside my door glowing in the remnants of summer sun.

*This subject came up recently and it needs to be known that I have never, ever had any interest in the Price is Right. I could write about 45 blog posts about why its bad. And one comment on why its ok–Bob Barker’s a cute old man! Maybe it makes the comparison above pretty bad, and I should have instead used something like “Gilmore Girls” or “Scrubs” as shows that could actually put up a fight in keeping me glued to the tele. But apparently, everyone else and their mother, from the age of 10 onward, thought this show The Reason to fake a fever and avoid school or use up a precious sick day at work. Anyway, the point is, if there is sunshine outside, that’s where I’d rather be. And if there is anything else to be done besides sit on my toosh for more than 5 minutes, I’m likely doing it. TypeAMuch?

So after spending the greater part of the morning doing very June Cleaveresque tasks (i.e. laundry, cleaning, baking, etc. woohoo!) I did not want to spend anymore time indoors [read: in a gym or studio or any other fitnessy place with a roof overhead]. So I did what I do best and laced up my sneaks. Ok, maybe it’s not what I do best…seeing as so many people do it so much better (did you SEE the 3:50 dude at the 5th Ave Mile or HEAR about that insane record set in Berlin), but it is what I can officially say I love to do. And I guess what I’m addicted to.

I’m not alone. Lots of ladies are lamenting about similar relationships. Some on again/off again, some long-term, some still new. But plenty of others love running so much they’d probably hit the pavement for a little jog the day after a PDR too.

Anywho. My legs were still tight and a wee bit grouchy from yesterday, but they very graciously complied to a 4.5 mile out-and-back along the river. Thank you, legs, you are too kind!

The sun was still sneaking out, even though there were some severe patches of fog and ominous “omgisitgoingtorainonme clouds” and it was a gloooorious little jog. While the summer-like heat and humidity were a bit of a pain in the arse around mile 14 on Sunday, yesterday they were fine company, especially joined by the light wind off the river.

Afterwards I went home for moreeee June jobs, i.e. whipping up the JD’s bday dinner. On the menu: pumpkin (yes, PUMPKIN) and sausage pasta (and it was so GOOD) served with a side of bread and a spinach salad (complete with my first-ever homemade dressing). Of course we couldn’t dive in until a little after 9pm when the poor kid returned home from work, but once we did I was pleasantly surprised to see no gagging, choking or other scary movements that may imply I did something drastically wrong in the kitchen from anyone. It was actually a pretty yummmy meal, agreed upon by all parties. I also learned that “homemade” salad dressing maaay be one of the easiest things in the world to “make”.

Also pretty easy to make AND put a big smile on a certain JDs face, is peanut butter pie:

ok, again, dumbphone doesn't take the greatest/most appetizing photos, but its pb pie with Oreo crust. and its delicious.

*Note (s): 1. I realize I’m a giant nerd for cutting a Reese’s cup into the shape of a heart. 2. This pie is proof that I will never be one of those “healthy living” bloggers. Because there is absolutely nothing healthy about the desert pictured here. Unless, I guess, you want to go with the ol’, “well peanut butter is a healthy fat and provides good energy and fuel for fitness, especially for distance runners.” Actually yes, let’s go with that….and pay no mind to the fact that there’s about 3 jars worth of pb and youdon’twanttoknowwhatelse in this DELICIOUS masterpiece of a desert.

Needless to say, I went to bed full of sticky, chocolately goodness and slept like a baby.

Only babies usually wake up super super early and I did not. Instead, I’m being gooood (right? rest is good) and allowed myself to sleep in and take my time getting into work today (if you consider 8:15 sleeping in). After work I’ll reconvene with the legs and see just what they’re up for…if anything at all. 🙂

Have a happy Tuesday kids!

 

– When did you discover your true feelings for something?

– Speaking of feeelings. Are you feeling techy today? Giving? Both? Fantastic! Than you’ll want to do some reading, right hurr: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/864968865/metropoli-monopolize-your-life-one-check-in-at-a-t

– Is anyone else doing Grete’s Great Gallop on Saturday? I just signed up for it…yes, cue up Simple Plan again…

8 Responses to “Officially Addicted.”


  1. 1 Kelly September 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    nice work on the 18 miler! Three loops of CP (and harlem hills) is killer. But you totally forget all that and just remember the great parts of the run! I am glad you are totally and completely addicted to running. Not sure when I realized I was addicted to running, but it’s been a while and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  2. 5 thethinksicanthink September 27, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Yep – I’m doing Grete’s! I did it last year and it wasn’t so bad, even though it was two loops. And, if you did 3 this weekend, you can definitely do two!

    Hmm…I guess I realized I was addicted to running when my interest and obsession in it eclipsed that of my friends who got me interested in the first place!

    • 6 marathon winer September 27, 2011 at 9:42 pm

      i hear that (about the total eclipse bahaha)!

      im excited for grete’s just because the bronx half got irened out and i havent had an officially timed half since my first last november, so hopefully i can race this and be proud of the finish time!!

      are you running the nyc marathon? or any others this fall?

  3. 7 Katherine September 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    4.5 miles after 18 miles is impressive! I did 4 miles of intervals today and wanted to pace out afterwards (no 18miles before hand haha)

    P.S. I think a heart-shaped full fat pie IS healthy living! Don’t get many smiles from a weight watchers brownie haha


Leave a Reply

