Bib it Up

Just when you think training is getting a little too intense, distances are getting eerily long and you’re afraid to walk outside for fear of slipping in a rain puddle in your $2 flip-flops and breaking your ankle and completely missing out on your marathon, up comes a “race weekend”. Aka, a weekend when you get to go to NYRR and pick up a bib that reminds you why you’re training–for those of you who don’t know…because wearing colorful bibs and racing amongst crowds of other sweaty, excited runners is fun.

Today was a rainy, ugly day that made the very idea of trekking outside scary (especially due to the aforementioned fears of slippage). Eventually I made it out to run some errands–aka, dropping off the JD’s dry cleaning and picking up more supplies to ring in his birthday on Monday. And while just a few blocks from home, I happened to literally bump into a close friend of my little sister Squigs, who is from Richmond but now living in DC. And we found each other in the middle of a rainy Friday in the middle of the street on the UWS. What are the odds of that? #justanotherthingiloveaboutnyc (hashtags SO work for blogs, right? wrong i guess. i don’t even know how to use them on Twitter).

After returning soaking wet from stocking up on partay supplies I sat around for too long toying with the idea of forgoing a run and instead curling up with last nights premiere of Grey’s Anatomy. But then I thought about how boringggg this blog post would be if I didn’t have badass rain miles to report on. And bibs to show you:

two bibs in one weekend? that may be a first!

Nevermind. I just remembered that I ran the Race for Hope the day after RunAMuck like a year ago. And I’m too lazy to go back and edit that comment. But this is still cool because one of these bibs is for my super scary 18-miler on Sunday (dun dun dun). Luckily NYRR was nice enough to offer their support of said run by showering us with gifts of sweat rags and deoderant. Guess they know what we’ll be needing afterwards. I am a little baffled by the hair product sampleage and teenie tiny cookbook that was also part of the swag though. I mean, I’m not complaining, but any dudes running Sunday may be a little miffed. As far as the other bib, that’s for tomorrow’s 5th Ave. Mile. I’m still not sure what I want to do with this race, as I know I need to take it realllly easy tomorrow if I want to survive Sunday (where IS that RoadID I ordered??) but I missed a NYRR run while in the Natural State, and really want to hit the 9+1 asap. I also think having the chance to go balls to the walls with a little mile run would be lots of fun. That, and I am digggging the t-shirt they gave for this one. I think this and the Puerto Rican run are the only two I’ve actually kept so far.

Anywho. I cut across the park to NYRR HQ, grabbed the goods and came right back home, for a quick 4+ miles in a steady stream of rain. It actually wasn’t so bad. Next up is stretching, showering and getting ready to go see Brandi Carlile tonight in midtown with some fam and friends 🙂 I am soooo excited. If you don’t know who she is, please spend the rest of your weekend educating yourself. You’ll thank me later:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8pQLtHTPaI&ob=av2e

 

– Are you doing the 5th Ave Mile or Tune Up Run this weekend? Pointers to offer either way?

– What are your weekend plans? After the tune-up we’re hoping the rain holds off for the Mets game, so should be pretty jam packed, but fun 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Bib it Up”


  1. 1 runningseal September 23, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    I will be doing the fifth avenue mile! Did 400s as preparation yesterday. Never done it before so I have no idea what to expect! Good luck!

  2. 2 Katie September 23, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    bah, see… sooo much more seasoned/prepared than me! good luck to you toooo!


Leave a Reply

