Puddle Jumpin

I guess I can’t complain about all this rain, seeing as how I was fortunate enough to get lots of sunshine while in Richmond for Labor Day. While there, I knocked out another half marathon (sort of by accident), a 4.5-mile jog the next day and randomly covered 8.75 miles on Sunday morning. I almost reached 40 miles last week. Sooo, that was pretty cool.

Then, for the first time in a long time (maybe since I started marathon training), I did what Hal told me to do. And took a total rest day on Monday. And I mean TOTAL. Because I was in RVA and not NYC, there wasnt even any mileage covered by walking to the store or up and down our apartment stairs. Instead, I spent the morning shopping and spent the afternoon posted up by the pool. And it was delightful.

Then, due to the drive back to NY and lots and lots of intimidating rain (which is odd, because just two weeks prior the rain didn’t stop me from hitting the pavement), I took another total rest day yesterday. TOTAL. Complete with lots of sweets and wine. Oops. [Sidenote, I’ve officially decided that to live up to my blog’s name, it’s only right that I indulge in a few glasses of wine here and there, because this is about marathon running WHILE wine fueling. Or something like that. Or at least that’s what I tell myself when the little devil on my shoulder kicks of the halo-d Katie and says “uncork that bottle now!”]

So today, in an attempt to be a good student and really listen to Mr. Hal, I ran yesterdays 3 miles. And today’s 7 miles. And just a smidge more during the cool down. Put me in coach! I’m ready to play!

Was it stupid to do like 11 miles today? Yes and no. I’m still early enough into training that one extra rest day couldn’t have killed me. Then again, my legs had two full rest days behind them, and I took it slow out there. So, all in all, not so bad. The weather was perfect for sweeping around Central Park.There are a lot of interesting runners in the park midday. I saw a man decked out in hot pink spandex kicking a pink soccer ball around the loops, saw a man in street clothes sprinting through the grass with what appeared to be a small tire under his sweatshirt and another old dude–kudos for being out there!–doing JillianMichaels-esque high knee skipping along the bridle path. Not the normal 6 a.m. crowd I’m used too, but made for some great people watching.

I covered the 5 mile loop, 4 mile loop (careful both times to avoid the Harlem Hills) and it was misting the whole time which kept it nice and cool. The heavy rains didn’t really hit until just as I finished up and was ready to do some walking to shake it out. Thank you Mr. Raincloud, for postponing your visit!

Before I head back out of town Monday I realllllllly want to try to make it to both yoga (I have 3 Living Social-given classes that expire next week!) and the gym–I neeeeed to reconvene with that heavenly foam roller AND do some strength training. MAKE ME STICK TO IT. YELL AT ME. TELL ME FIRST TIME MARATHONERS DONT CROSS THE FINISH LINE WITHOUT DILIGENT YOGA. I’ll know you’re lying, but I’ll feel sissy and scared enough to listen to you. Great, thanks in advance for that.

Now I’m off to stretch, contemplate spending money I don’t have on my own foam roller, and spend this rainy day catching up on True Blood. Before you scoff, go watch the first season straight through and try and tell me its not addicting.

Have the happiest of hump days kiddos!

5 Responses to “Puddle Jumpin”


  1. 1 Squigs September 7, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    Youll never finish without yoga. because yoga i awesome and you dont do it enough

  2. 2 Kelly September 7, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    investing in a foam roller is money well spent! And DOOOO YOGA. NOWWW. I hope that was convincing. 🙂

  3. 3 marathon winer September 7, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    thank you squigs and kelly. i am now looking up classes for tomorrow. now we’ll just have to see about getttting me there!

  4. 4 runningismagical September 8, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Wow you covered a LOT of miles! But taking total rest days are important, and actually really fun!! I try to remember to foam roll after long runs, but yoga is my fav way to keep my muscles from getting tight.


Leave a Reply

