Dinges DOES sound like a dirty word.

But it is in fact, quite the opposite. Dinges defines all of the most tasty and delectable treats you can add on top of a warm, freshly made waffle. At least that’s the definition used by Wafels and Dinges (wordpress, whhyyy can’t I put links in anymore? http://www.wafelsanddinges.com/index.html). Who fed me my breakfast-for-dinner last night.

To be more specific, dinges is apparently a Flemish word meaning “things” or “whatchamecallits.” Works for me. And to be more specific, works for my tum.

After a very long overdue visit to my gym where I did my normal elliptical/weight routine (and for the first time ever, took advantage of the fact that the gym has foam rollers on hand–my body appreciates the fact that I’m finally paying attention to it) I meandered up Broadway in search of the Wafels and Dinges wheels. I had (brace yourselves for this shock), a living social voucher for the Belgian food truck that was on the verge of expiration..aka, it technically expired yesterday, but due to the weekend’s closures they extended the deadline to today.

Never one to let a penny go to waste, I was determined to get my one savory, one sweet waffle and a drink deal no matter what it took. Apparently many other New Yorkers had the same idea in mind. Because I ended up waiting on the corner of 71st and Bway for an HOUR. For waffles. Who in their right mind does that? Penny pinches and waffle lovers I guess, because the line was out the wazoo. People grew impatient after the first 45 minutes or so, to the point where I actually witnessed a woman dropping f-bombs at the poor dudes manning the truck. F-bombs! Over waffles! And here I thought I lived in the friendliest city in the world. Guess some New Yorkers get overly touchy when it comes to grid-shaped dough smothered in spekuloos and other deliciousness?

What is spekuloos? I have no idea. I tried to find out by asking one of the super friendly (even after the f-bombing) men in the truck’s window and the reply was something along the lines of “butterflies and rainbows and sugar and love for your tummy.” Sounded good to me! So I brought home one savory waffle (covered in pulled pork, bbq sauce and cole slaw…yes, you read that right) and one savory (with said spekuloos–amazing, by the way–hot fudge, bananas and strawberries). To try to rid myself of some of the guilt that comes with eating two overflowing waffles for “dinner,” I had half of each and saved the other halves for the JD to try when he got home. We went to bed dreaming of dinges.

This morning I very begrudgingly woke up for a run (waffles are good pre-run fuel, right?) and reenacted the same script I roll through every morning: “Just go back to bed. You don’t need to run today. You don’t need to run any day, because who are you kidding? You are not a runner. You can’t run a marathon.”

I told myself that was all true, and all well and good, but marathon or not I had some pork and hot fudge to burn off, so I pulled on the sneaks and headed out the door.

For some reason, all of my runs lately have been realllly dragging for the first few miles. And today was no exception. I told myself as long as I did 4, I’d be happy and I’d be in line with Hal’s recommended distance for the day. I entered a branch battered Central Park (Irene didn’t do too much damage otherwise), at 96th street and pushed myself through one loops of the Bridle Path. If I had headed home from there I would have hit the 4 mile goal, but as is also the case with my runs lately, by the time I hit 3-4 miles, I finally fall into the groove. So I did another loop around the reservoir and headed back towards home. Once near home, I went beyond the groove and found my runner’s high (Oh, HELLO high, why can’t you visit first thing in the a.m. when I really need your company?) and tacked on one more hilly mile before calling it quits. All in all, around 8 miles covered this a.m. And heading into the 8th mile is when I reallly started to feel good and wanted to keep going. If I wasn’t already crazy late for work, I probably would have (as it is, I already had to text my boss and make up an excuse for being late. It was “the JD locked himself out of the apt and I had to bring him keys.” Thanks for being my scapegoat, babe!). Getting this second gust of wind at mile 8 was a confidence boost…I’m hoping I’ll get it again in a few weeks when I have to hit 15-16 miles (my longest/scariest distance to date).  

But 8 miles for this morning worked out perfect,  since I am going to a BYOB Painting Class tonight (you’ll get full details on that tomorrow morning…this post is already far too long) and expect I’ll want a shorter jog tomorrow morning. 🙂

-Thoughts on foam rollers? I’ve been toying with the idea of buying one for ages, but they are pricey. After getting to check it out at the gym last night, I’m thinking it could definitely be worthhh the splurge. On the other hand, maybe I could just use it when I can get to the gym?

– What’s your favorite food truck? I clearly, may have discovered mine last night.

5 Responses to “Dinges DOES sound like a dirty word.”


  1. 1 runningismagical August 30, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    I love waffles and your food truck sounds like quite a treat!!!

    As much as I adore dessert and all things sweet, I lean more towards savory food trucks. The Kogi truck was a big deal over here in California for awhile, but I recently discovered a hot dog one that I am obsessed with!

  2. 2 slowmotionfight August 30, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    i love brinner!

  3. 3 Kelly August 30, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    Do you have a rolling pin? Because it also works to roll out hamstrings, quads, and calves. That’s what I used before I bought a foam roller. Also, your runs make me feel so lazy.

    • 4 marathon winer August 30, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      blurg. i dont even have a rolling pin. maybe i can steal one next time i visit the parents?? do you think it works well enough or should i splurge on the real deal? and haha, you’ve got midday workouts all the timeeee im so jealous of those!


  1. 1 On a Monday I am waiting « Marathon Winer Trackback on November 21, 2011 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

