26 (.2)

My birthday was always bittersweet for me as a kid because as exciting as it was to have pool parties with all of your friends and restock the Barbie dolls, the occasion also sort of marked the end of summer and the return to the school year. This year, I am sad to see summer race to an end slip away but I am thrilled for fall weather–for no other reason than the obvious, perfect running climate.

Yesterday I hit up the park after work, and had to convince myself that it was still only August and not October. The temperature was still warm but certainly not hot, and there was a continuous lazy breeze wisping around. I was running super slow for fear of doing any damage to the whole hip issue, but I was clogging along with a big dorky smile on my face.

And while the post-work runs in the park have actually been surprisingly nice and enjoyable (minus constantly having to two-step out of the way of roller bladers, tourists, cars, etc, etc.), I’m going to need to stop. At least until the Borders in the Time Warner building actually closes. Because as it is, it’s impossible for me to pick up my bag from New York Running Company and waltz right past the bright yellow signs screaming “books! on sale! you know you want them!” I do want them. I wanted them before they were 50% off. So naturally, when they are 50% off, me and my wallet go in and do some damage. Early birthday present to me? Ooops.

After loading my already heavy commuter bags down with the weight of the entire half-off literary fiction section I finally made it home to finish unpacking from this weekends awesome trip westward and get some cleaning done. The night ended with trying out some stretches suggested by my few blog followers and many FB friends (thanks for going the extra mile Janette!)

This morning those same stretches were repeated after a quick 4-miler to the reservoir and back–but a super special 4-miler as I had a special sub running for the RB–the JD! Yay. This may have been one of the first times we’ve managed to run together before work, as I’m usually up and out with the RB at the crack of dawn and he’s more of an evening exerciser. But late nights at the office (+ dinner plans tonight 🙂 ) make for an early morning if you want to fit it all in!

I’m definitely looking forward to another day of eating all my meals out..and I mean all of them. My super cheap office started charging for coffee (that has to be a crime in some country), and I forgot to bring my own k-cups in…so birthday latte for me? If I must! Then there’s a lunch date with the cous, and a dinner date with the JD.

Yes. I’m sure you caught on by now. Today is my birthday. I normally wouldn’t feel the need to shout it to the world (especially since 26 is a scary age for me…I’m no longer early 20s, but late 20s. eeks), but I’ve found it particularly nice that I’m running 26.2 miles the year I turn 26. That little deat makes it all a little more tolerable. If only my birthday were November 12…wouldn’t that be cute! And this bday relates to running in other ways…After the JD and I returned from this mornings (another day of perfect running weather) jog I was showered with gifts, all of which can be found on the right hand side of this page. I can check off the bib book and the medal rack from my “Running Wish List”. Thanks babe 🙂

Hope your Thursdays delightful, all!

– All this talk about nice running weather, but theres a big dark cloud where excitement should be hovering over my thoughts on Sunday’s race. To those “planning” on “running” the Bronx Half…are you doing it rain or shine? It was so NOT comforting to see the mayor interrupt the Today Show this morning to talk about emergency weather plans/evacuations/etc. to prepare for this weekend. Clearly, NYRR will cancel the event if its dangerous conditions, but what if it’s just BELOW the line of dangerous and the run goes on?! I’m far more nervous now than I was a few weeks ago…

– What was one of YOUR favorite birthdays?

6 Responses to “26 (.2)”


  1. 1 runningismagical August 25, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Happy happy birthday!!! And you’re NOT in your late 20s yet. I think 27 is when you enter the late…you’re still the mid 20s – hopefully that makes you feel better about that ahah.

  2. 3 kels August 25, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I believe one of my favorite birthdays would have been my 21st that of course fell on Easter Sunday that involved travel to your fams house in Ric and some bad behavior 🙂 I’m sure you’ll probably never forget that one haha

  3. 4 Sass August 25, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    Happy Birthday again!!! And, BTW,
    no worries…still mid 20s….LOLOL

  4. 5 mealsformiles August 25, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Happy Birthday!! 26 is still pretty young, lady 🙂 And, BUMMER about the BX half being canceled. I was looking forward to it too!

  5. 6 marathon winer August 25, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    kelly–is the bx half definitely canceled?!?! the website isnt working. i feel like its so early! poo! are you gonna try to go long saturday instead? guess i will if the weather holds off!


Leave a Reply

