It’s a Sunshine Day

I’ve actually had the voices of all of the Brady children singing that line in my head for the last couple of hours. Why, you may ask? Because in many ways other than the beautiful weather we’ve been blessed with today, it is a very happy, sunshiny day.

Let’s back up a bit…yesterday I left work in a tizzy. I didn’t make it to yoga or CT of any kind (shocker, I know, but I actually reallly wanted to) due to ever-growing piles of work at work. I was not pleased about leaving so late AND missing some good stretching and strength training, and to make matters worse, I also had a to-do list a mile long that I needed to attack last night. The to-do list included lots of errands regarding the Big Apple Bachelorette Weekend which begins in t-minus 4 hours, as well as preparing for a last-minute interview scheduled for this afternoon. All this on a day that I expected to be off (though I am now in the office) with plenty of time to tackle said list after a long run (here’s where things get sunshiny).

I surprisingly managed to accomplish everything I wanted to last night (I cannot go into many details, as the bride-to be may be reading and I cannot ruin surprises!), though got to bed a smidge late. Because this morning, I had a NEW marathon training milestone on the agenda! Drum roll, please….

No, I did not tackle an unheard of distance, or climb eerily steep hills or run faster than a Kenyan. I did, however, get up before the sun. In the middle of summer. At 5:15 a.m. This is not like me.

But I liked it. Because it allowed me to get 12 miles under my belt before the ripe hour of 8 a.m. (if I hadn’t threatened myself to stop saying “Huzzah!” after every exciting thing I post I would say it here. Instead, I’ll say “yippee!”). Yippee!

I ran the inner 4 miles of Central Park solo before meeting up the RB, and together we then tackled the 5-mile loop. RB is the best of the best because she stuck with for my very sluggish last few miles when I just wanted to whine and walk, all the while telling me I was going fast for a long run. Thank you RB, you are so nice to my confidence. Her confidence boosts continued even after the run when I got text messages telling me that I will definitely hit 4 hours come November 12. I do not believe that for a lickity split of a second, but I do adore my RB for saying it. Please don’t move to Brooklyn 🙂

Here’s something that our run got me thinking about though. I was all gung-ho about trying to hit 12 miles this weekend so I would feel prepared for the Bronx half on the 28th. RB does a good job of reminding me that the Bronx half is not The Race, and I shouldn’t let it faze me too much. Originally I was thinking that if I do well at the Bronx [read: PR], it will give me an adrenaline rush to make it through more training and onward to The Race. Then again, if I push myself too hard to PR the Bronx, there’s always the risk of burnout. Ugh, that fine balance of marathon training. I feel good about today’s run (like, REALLY good), but now need to start thinking about what I want to do for that 13.1. Hmm…

Anywho, the truly hard parts of my day are done and done (i.e. rising at the crack of dawn to run for almost two hours and still get to work on time/before my boss). Now it’s time to knock out some work, go do the interview thang, and then greet the gals at Penn Station so we can get this “last fling before the ring” weekend going 🙂 I. am. pumped.

*Sidenote: if you find a girl with short blonde hair, decked out in 80s gear and passed out at a bar at 10 p.m., just know its me and kindly point me in the direction of the first cab available. Gracias.

 

– Today I tried really hard to make myself drink water and take a few (and by a few, I mean 2) GuChews on the run in order to better train for marathon day. I don’t usually like to stop. Anyone out there have suggestions when it comes to fueling during long runs? When its really necessary and what’s easiest for someone who hates both stopping and carrying things? Ha, I make things easy, right?

– Thoughts on that whole “PR-ing the half while training for the full” dilemma up there? Much thanks in advance.

– What’s on YOUR weekend agenda?

4 Responses to “It’s a Sunshine Day”


  1. 1 Tracy August 12, 2011 at 10:53 am

    I used to swear by Sharkies (you can find them on Amazon) because they’re small and gummy and not as – I don’t know, big and funny tasting? – as other shot blocks/chomps/etc. I would just put one in my mouth and let it dissolve while I ran. I haven’t tried that in a while, but it might be worth a shot?

    • 2 marathon winer August 12, 2011 at 11:11 am

      Thanks Tracy, I’ll have to look into those!! I tried the GU gels while training for my half last year, but they get so messy and require water to be able to get them down, haha.

  2. 3 runningismagical August 12, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Awesome job getting up before the sun is up! I personally love running early in the morning before I do anything else!!

    I take off for a week long cruise this weekend and I cannot wait!

    • 4 marathon winer August 12, 2011 at 11:26 am

      i agree…its tough to hear the alarm, but once your legs get moving its great to feel so accomplished to early in the day! and omg i’m so jealous!! have a GREAT time!!


Leave a Reply

