Self Prescribed Taper

Try as I might in Richmond, in my entire time there I actually only got up for an early-morning run last Friday–when I had 11 miles on the schedule and couldn’t bear the thought of starting that in and heat that comes after 7 a.m. The rest of the runs were tackled in the last afternoon/early evening, after a day of lounging poolside or running errands. And with a few exceptions, they were good runs. I think I am acclimated to the heat–woohoo! Now, while last week and this week will have fewer miles covered than I’d like (but still more than Hal prescribes), I am far less intimidated by the idea of running the Bronx Half at the end of August.  Huzzah!

So when my alarm went off at 6 this morning after a night of very little sleep (not sure why–anxiety over my return to the working world?) I decided it couldn’t hurt to push today’s run off until later. I didn’t get the warm welcome from [a much cooler] Central Park that I was craving, but I’m okay with the decision. A little extra sleep can only help my training (though I read about many badass runners who train much harder after much less sleep) and I am still worried that I may have pulled a wee little muscle. If that IS the case, more rest can only help as well.

I’m guessing the muscle ache has something to do with the fact that I was stretching and strength training far less while away on vacay than I normally do. And on Monday night I had put off my run for so long that I was subjected to knocking out 4 miles on the treadmill in my parent’s basement. I hate treadmills as it is (yes, even the ones in the gym with the TVs attached to them), but this one is painfully hard to stay on for more than a few minutes. The only thing to look at other than the numbers and miles slowly spinning by on the dash is the lime green boom box (yes, I really think it’s an original boom box so calling it that was mandatory) on the floor alongside the machine, which at this point in its life is only capable of playing radio. I believe these factors aided my run because I wanted it to be over that much faster and the music (which, due to an ear bud claustrophobia issue I never listen to) helped power me through it. 

After the run (which I finished much faster than anticipated) I decided to “reward” myself with some stretching, and I think after a week-long limbering hiatus, must have just jumped into some stretch or another too quickly. And injured something, however miniscule. Anywo, hopefully the unexpected rest day yesterday and some extra recovery time while in the office today will help clear up that issue and I can hit up the park for 5 miles or so after work…if I ever get out of work today, because my email box is FULL. Time to go tackle that now.

Happy Hump Day! And a very happy birthday to my newly engaged cousin!

 

— I don’t expect anyone to be able to answer this…but WHAT is UP with returning to an office that now CHARGES for coffee? And charges MORE than my old nonprofit company???

— I’m hosting a mini-bachelorette for one of my favorite soon-to-be-a-Mrs. friends this weekend…shower me with ideas of fun things to do!

 

0 Responses to “Self Prescribed Taper”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

