Watermelon Day Fail

Apparently, yesterday was Watermelon Day. I did not find this out until about 2 minutes ago, via a Facebook post by GoHealthyNY. Today, I will have to eat an entire watermelon for having missed out on this event. As it is my absolute favorite summertime food.

Evidentally, while in Richmond I live in a bag. I miss out on all the watermelon news because I’m too busy playing SuperGirls with my favorite almost-four-year-old niece. I get behind on all my favorite running blogs because I spend my mornings sipping on seven cups of Almond-Joy-flavored coffee while doing crossword puzzles and chatting with my mom and sisters (I’m a nerd, I know it. And I’m okay with it. Will Shortz would think I’m HOTT). Even this little ‘ol blog suffers because I don’t take the time to add links and photos and other quasi-fun things to keep the interest of all my non-followers because I’m too busy trying to find a way to get outside in the Virginia sun and work on a tan. I also get super lazy and for the first time since marathon training began let myself follow Hal’s real plan of 3-5 mile weekday runs rather than the 7-8 milers I usually knock out with the RB in Central Park.

So later today, after I continue to pal around with mom and sisters, pick up the niece from daycare and run around the house screaming “Super Girls to the Rescue!” and get a few moments of sunshine in I will head downtown for a run with my soon-to-be-a-Mrs. friend Anne. We are planning to cover anywhere from 4-6 miles, and I’m crossing my fingers some of those miles will be real life excerpts from the November 12th marathon course (this is where I’d add a link to my super scary forthcoming Richmond marathon, which by the way…is officially a mere 100 days away…except I’m too lazy).

Afterwards, we’ll hose ourselves down and head to dinner at Joe’s Inn (again, link to come later) where I will hopefully be able to do a little carb-loading (I haven’t been to Joe’s in since Valentines Day sophomore year of high school, so this should make for some fun reminiscing). Why carb load when I just said I haven’t been racking up much mileage this week in the south? Because tomorrow I will conquer my longest run of marathon training yet…9-10 miles. I’m crossing my fingers that Squigs rides alongside me for those miles. More on that tomorrow though. I’m off!

 

— What’s your favorite summertime food?

— If Squigs can’t wake up with me for a 6:30 a.m. start time, would it be THAT stupid to do the longer run later in the a.m.?

 

4 Responses to “Watermelon Day Fail”


  1. 1 Tara August 4, 2011 at 10:39 am

    I love crossword puzzles, too! Did you do the NYT one yesterday with all the ‘T’s? I wanted to punch that one in the face. Good luck with the 9-10 tomorrow (and I think a later start time is just fine!).

    • 2 marathon winer August 5, 2011 at 10:26 am

      thanks tara! ive been visiting fam downtown this week so richmond times dispatch puzzles are what im attacking (much easier than nyt, so a big brain boost, haha). good to know others think the later start time works too! today was pretty cloudy so i think any time would have been about the same as far as difficulty goes. good luck with your training!

  2. 3 thethinksicanthink August 4, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    I am the queen of doing longer runs when its too hot outside — just go slower, take lots of water stops! On one long run a few weeks ago in that terrible 100F NYC heat, I actually took “cooling off” breaks where’d Id just walk around (a water fountain) for a few min until I felt my body T wasn’t boiling anymore. GOOD LUCK! Which marathon are you running?


Leave a Reply

