Oh, hi!

Remember the days when I actually used to write on my blog?? Yeah, they were good days. When I started back in July 2011 I was right in the beginning days of training for my first-ever marathon. I was jazzed about the idea of tackling 26.2 miles, and equally excited to gush about my training tales to you fine people. And I think I did a pretty good job of gushing and other talking via this ol’ wordpress account for a pretty long time. Up through, and even beyond The Marathon itself.

I wrote my race recap and then spent the next 14 days or so filling up my screen and (unfortunately for anyone who clicked on this link) the screens of my [2?] readers. The marathon/blogging high carried on, and even when I went out of the country for a week in December, I made sure that any [crazy] person wanting to get an update from marathonwinerworld has something to read for each day I was gone.

I’m not sure when I lost that mojo, but I’m sad I did.

Nearly two weeks ago (seriously, how does time fly SO fast?!) I ran my SECOND marathon, and shaved over FIVE minutes of my finishing time.

I had big plans to talk about that single event, for days and days and days. The PR was completely unexpected, and I wanted to bask in its glory for days and days afterwards. But its been days and days. And I have yet to tell you about the rest of my weekend in Buffalo (because I know you’re DYING to know about it), all of the Unmistakes that led to that lovely PR, my detailed breakdown of the course and plans for whats next.

Why have I failed to do so?

I guess I’ve been busy.

Work is a little hectic at the moment. And when I haven’t been working lately I’ve been lounging on the beaches of LBI, having lots of dates with runner friends, attending speed series in Brooklyn (and actually getting faster!), planning my trip to CT for Running Coach Certification next weekend and getting seriously pumped up about the Mini 10k and post-race brunch on Saturday.

So that’s that.

Basically a very long-winded way of letting you know that marathonwiner.wordpress.com is NOT going to turn into one of those blogs that you so sadly click on month after month hoping that there’s been some update in the last year, but really you know there’s not going to be. I’m going to get better. I’m going to explain my wacky talk about the “Unmistakes”. I’m going to get my gush on about Buffalo. And I’m going to get jazzed come July and training for marathon numero tres.

In the meantime, tell me what you’ve been up to! In the comments! Write ONE thing running related or work related or brunch related you’ve done in the last week. Do it. DO IT.

See you soon. I hope.

5 Responses to “Oh, hi!”


  1. 1 leticia ana June 7, 2012 at 8:37 pm

    HI- I’m injured and therefore my running stinks. But you are a rockstar and I’m glad we are real life friends. The end.

  2. 2 Steph June 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    Ha! I love Leticia’s comment! I ran an awesome 5K on Wednesday night and unfortunately that is the only time I’ve run all week! Also, I am glad we are real life friends too :)

  3. 3 Laura June 8, 2012 at 2:35 am

    Random thought that may be helpful to you: my blog always died when I felt like I had to do a post to update on a marathon/whatever, but I wasn’t in the mood to write that, and I wanted to write about what was going on RIGHT NOW. However, I felt like I had to do it chronologically and post about that race before I could catch up to today – so the upshot was I never ended up posting at all. You are far less of a procrastinator than me, but thought I’d throw that out there. We are happy to read about Buffalo anytime, so don’t feel like that’s the only thing you can write about :)

    I HAVE NOT SEEN YOU IN FOREVER AND I MISS YOU AND IT’S TOTALLY MY FAULT FOR ALWAYS BEING AWAY. We need to catch up soon. XOXO.

    To answer your question: I am at my 5 year college reunion and I am THRILLED to be here :)

  4. 4 Jocelyn June 8, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Let me know if you want some company one of the nights in CT! I should be heading home that weekend!

  5. 5 fionarwbl June 8, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    Don’t let the blog die!!! I’ll miss it. Also, my tempo run this week kicked ass and that never happens


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 582 other followers

