Marathon #2 in 2

The Buffalo Marathon is SO close.

As in, day after tomorrow.

I signed up for this race randomly, on a wintery March day, thinking “a late spring marathon would be fun” and “end of May is SO far away”

At least one of those thoughts was a flat out lie. The other, well…I’ll let you know how truthful it was come Sunday afternoon.

In the meantime, I’m floating back and forth between major freakout mode and “meh, it’s just another long run, like the THREE I did this training cycle”.

On the one hand, I know I can (and maybe should) take this race lightly, run slow and comfortable and just have a good time getting into the distance and preparing myself for NY. On the other hand, I know for a fact I’m going to be angry with myself if I don’t PR. And given the facts that I did not speed train AT ALL this cycle, my taper time involved more wine and less water than any other taper I’ve experienced, my legs mayyy still be a little tired/mad at me from that 60-mile week I pulled out of nowhere and the weather forecast is looking a little intimidating for Sunday…

Yes. I've run in rain before. And snow and lots of other uncomfortable condiitions. But not for 26.2 miles.I get that upstate NY considers anything higher than 60 degrees summertime weather. And I get that this is no Boston situation. But still. "Advisories" of any sort make me itch a little...

…it looks that Sunday’s experience could be the latter.

I want to stay positive and be happy with my time–no matter WHAT happens. And I’m going to try really, really hard to focus on doing that over the next 2 days.

But just in case…

Cross your fingers for ideal running conditions and a miracle of speed :)

Enjoy the long weekend kids! And good luck to everyone else running this weekend!!!

2 Responses to “Marathon #2 in 2”


  1. 1 Lindsey May 25, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Good luck this weekend!! Hope you have a great race.

  2. 2 Michele @ nycrunningmama May 26, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    Good Luck this weekend! Looking forward to hearing all about the race! Think positive thoughts – you put in some serious training mileage! Another 26 miles is nothing ! =)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 582 other followers

