And the Countdown Begins

Before my 22 mile run a few weeks ago (has it really been that long?), I ate a peanut butter slathered Honey Stinger while reading my recap of my longest training run before The Richmond Marathon. I guess I found it inspirational and uplifting, because I made it through those 22 miles at a decent pace, all before the work day even began.

Today, after spending a little too much time fully acknowledging the fact that I’m running a marathon in 4 days and nearly peeing my pants due to nerves, I decided to see how I felt 4 days before running Richmond. That was a wee bit of a mistake.

Turns out, this time 6ish months ago, I had just come off a weekend of healthy eating and NYC marathon spectating. I said no to every offer of spectating beer (but don’t worry, I still agree cheering on the sidelines is exhausting and worthy of many brewskis), and said yes to giant cups of water. And I did not leave my apartment to go cheer on friends as they made their way up first avenue until I knew for sure which elites were first to cross the finish line. I was feeling good. I was feeling great! And I was so ready to take on my own 26.2.

On top of heading into marathon week on a high note, I was also starting a new job. Some may think that’s a lot to juggle at once, but as it turns out, I welcomed the distraction. Apparently I’ll take new job nerves over race day anxiety any day.

Unfortunately, my unhappiness at said job is now causing an unpleasant interruption in this race week. Remember all that whining over my poor eating habits (in the last 2 months I’ve officially went one–ONE–day without chocolate and/or sweets) and weight gain (see ya sub4, I certainly cannot carry this extra poundage for 26.2 miles and still cross the finish line with a 3 in front of my face) and whatnot? I’m 99% sure a chunk of that yes, comes from the ravenous hunger that always comes with marathon training, but the majority of it is anxiety/stress/depression fueled eating. And that, I can credit to my current work situation. Not cool. Not cool at all.

To that note, I did not cruise into this race week motivated and inspired by spectating. I rolled into it, in a food and wine-induced coma after a fantastic wedding weekend with my family in Arkansas (note: I have no regrets about this as it was an epic two days and I had a great time, but it certainly does not help the sluggishness I’m feeling four days out from toeing the start line).

So clearly, I’m still whiny. Sorry I didn’t offer you another disclaimer, but I guess you figured it out pretty early on anyway.

The good news is, Buffalo was never my A race. Buffalo was always meant to be a buffer before The Marathon (as Richmond will always be referred to) and the very intimidating, “A” race that is ING NYC. So I’m going to try my best to be happy with whatever my time is come Sunday.

And while it’s a little too late to be trying to improve on speed for this weekend, I know I want to really, strongly focus on speed for November. So I’m super excited that I signed up for a summer speed series with some awesome runner friends, and I’ll be venturing out to Brooklyn for my first 5k with them tonight!

Hope everyone’s having an awesome week!

Feel free to leave links to inspiring stories about running miracles where people hit their highest weight and had their slowest training cycle but ran their fastest race–maybe even came in first place, come marathon day. Much thanks in advance :)

*Note: after writing this super whiny/girly/downer of a post, I read this one of Meggie’s: http://thethinksicanthink.wordpress.com/

It made me feel better. So go read it too!

5 Responses to “And the Countdown Begins”


  1. 2 Megan May 23, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    GOOD LUCK this weekend!!! You’re going to do amazing!! Can’t wait to catch up next week :)

  2. 3 Megan May 23, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    GOOD LUCK!!! You’re going to do amazing this weekend!! Can’t wait to hear all about it next week :)

  3. 4 Steph May 23, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Try to stay positive! Make sure to go into this race with that feeling and it will turn out to be a good one! It’s not your “A” race and it wasn’t the perfect training, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be a good race.

    Relax, stay positive and go into the race with no pressure and no stress. Enjoy it and be happy that after this, you can take a nice long break!

    Good luck Katie, I’m sure you will do great!

  4. 5 Laura May 24, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    I think this is a fantastic attitude to go into a race – you never know if you might surprise yourself, but you’re not putting all your eggs in one basket. Relaxing and having fun is a GREAT way to do it!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 582 other followers

